window.ga=window.ga||function(){(ga.q=ga.q||[]).push(arguments)};ga.l=+new Date; ga('create', 'UA-43850283-1', 'auto'); ga('require', 'GTM-KCDD7PG'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('require', 'displayfeatures'); ga('require', 'cleanUrlTracker'); ga('require', 'outboundLinkTracker'); ga('require', 'ec'); ga('send', 'pageview'); ga('set', 'nonInteraction', true); setTimeout("ga('send', 'event', 'read', '20 seconds')", 20000);

Glen Mhor

Translation: Great Valley
Region: (Northern) Highlands


Himself is the man.

What do you do if you want to buy distillery manager shares in the distillery - but this is denied? Right: You just build your own distillery next door. At least that's what John Birnie, the manager of the Glen Albyn Distillery in Inverness, did. When he could not become a co-owner, he built in 1892, together with John Mackinlay directly opposite the distillery Glen Mhor. He did it so well that Glen Mhor's reputation soon surpassed that of Glen Albyn. And barely 30 years later, the good John actually bought the Glen Albyn distillery after all. Good thing that he did not have to see how both distilleries were demolished to make room for a shopping center.


A little history

Glen Mhor (pronounced "Glen wor") was founded by John Birnie and John Mackinlay in the north of Inverness in 1892. The name refers to the tectonic fault of the so-called Great Glen ("Great Valley"), where the distillery is located The first spirit came from the pot stills in 1894. The Scottish writer Neil Gunn worked for Glen Mhor in the 1920s and 1930s, and the high quality of the whiskey (and perhaps also Gunn's sales skills) made Glen Mhor very successful In spite of the boom in blended whiskeys, a separate drum malting factory was opened in 1954, which was also used by the opposite Glen Albyn Distillery, which also belonged to Mackinlay & Birnie Ltd. in 1920. Glen Mhor was renamed in 1972 William Birnie, son of John, sold to the Distillers Company Limited (DCL) in 1980, the malting plant was shut down first, and finally the entire distillery in 1983. 198 8, the buildings were demolished to make way for a supermarket.


What do I actually have in the glass?

The Glen Mhor was and is a wonderful Highland Malt. A round, soft body with lush sweetness, a hint of pepper and spices, subtly smoky notes.


3 reasons to love Glen Mhor

1) Because the malt makes everything right.
2) Because a big malt goes well with the big valley.
3) Because the name sounds like a lot of Scotland.


The one drama for the lonely island

The original bottlings from the Rare Malts series are a dream. However, now a difficult to implement.


numbers and facts

Address: (former) Great North Road, Inverness, Inverness-IV IV IV 5LD
Founded in 1892 by John Birnie and John Mackinlay
Status: demolished
Owner: (last) Distillers Company Ltd. (DCL)
Capacity: (formerly) approx. 1,500,000 liters
1 wash stills
1 spirit still
Water: (formerly) River Ness
Visitor Center: -
Telephone: -
Website: -

Translation: Great Valley Region: (Northern) Highlands Himself is the man. What do you do if you want to buy distillery manager shares in the distillery - but this is denied? Right: You... read more »
Close window
Glen Mhor

Translation: Great Valley
Region: (Northern) Highlands


Himself is the man.

What do you do if you want to buy distillery manager shares in the distillery - but this is denied? Right: You just build your own distillery next door. At least that's what John Birnie, the manager of the Glen Albyn Distillery in Inverness, did. When he could not become a co-owner, he built in 1892, together with John Mackinlay directly opposite the distillery Glen Mhor. He did it so well that Glen Mhor's reputation soon surpassed that of Glen Albyn. And barely 30 years later, the good John actually bought the Glen Albyn distillery after all. Good thing that he did not have to see how both distilleries were demolished to make room for a shopping center.


A little history

Glen Mhor (pronounced "Glen wor") was founded by John Birnie and John Mackinlay in the north of Inverness in 1892. The name refers to the tectonic fault of the so-called Great Glen ("Great Valley"), where the distillery is located The first spirit came from the pot stills in 1894. The Scottish writer Neil Gunn worked for Glen Mhor in the 1920s and 1930s, and the high quality of the whiskey (and perhaps also Gunn's sales skills) made Glen Mhor very successful In spite of the boom in blended whiskeys, a separate drum malting factory was opened in 1954, which was also used by the opposite Glen Albyn Distillery, which also belonged to Mackinlay & Birnie Ltd. in 1920. Glen Mhor was renamed in 1972 William Birnie, son of John, sold to the Distillers Company Limited (DCL) in 1980, the malting plant was shut down first, and finally the entire distillery in 1983. 198 8, the buildings were demolished to make way for a supermarket.


What do I actually have in the glass?

The Glen Mhor was and is a wonderful Highland Malt. A round, soft body with lush sweetness, a hint of pepper and spices, subtly smoky notes.


3 reasons to love Glen Mhor

1) Because the malt makes everything right.
2) Because a big malt goes well with the big valley.
3) Because the name sounds like a lot of Scotland.


The one drama for the lonely island

The original bottlings from the Rare Malts series are a dream. However, now a difficult to implement.


numbers and facts

Address: (former) Great North Road, Inverness, Inverness-IV IV IV 5LD
Founded in 1892 by John Birnie and John Mackinlay
Status: demolished
Owner: (last) Distillers Company Ltd. (DCL)
Capacity: (formerly) approx. 1,500,000 liters
1 wash stills
1 spirit still
Water: (formerly) River Ness
Visitor Center: -
Telephone: -
Website: -

No results were found for the filter!
Viewed

Summer Sale 2024: Feiere 20 Jahre Home of Malts mit Mega Angeboten!

Glen Mhor

Übersetzung: Großes Tal
Region: (Nördliche) Highlands


Selbst ist der Mann.

Was macht man, wenn man als Destilleriemanager gern Anteile der Brennerei kaufen möchte – einem dies aber verwehrt wird? Richtig: Man baut einfach nebenan seine eigene Destillerie. So jedenfalls machte es John Birnie, der Manager der Glen Albyn Distillery in Inverness. Als er nicht Miteigentümer werden konnte, errichtete er 1892 zusammen mit John Mackinlay direkt gegenüber die Brennerei Glen Mhor. Das machte er so gut, dass der Ruf von Glen Mhor sehr bald den von Glen Albyn übertraf. Und knapp 30 Jahre später erwarb der gute John die Glen Albyn Destillerie dann tatsächlich doch noch. Gut nur, dass er nicht mehr miterleben musste, wie beide Destillerien abgerissen wurden, um Platz zu machen für ein Shoppingcenter.


Ein bisschen Geschichte

Glen Mhor (gesprochen "Glen wor“) wurde 1892 von John Birnie und John Mackinlay im Norden von Inverness gegründet. Der Name bezieht sich auf die tektonische Verwerfung des sogenannten Great Glen („Großes Tal“), in dem die Brennerei liegt. Im Dezember 1894 lief der erste Spirit aus den Pot Stills. In den 20er- und 30er-Jahren arbeitete der schottische Schriftsteller Neil Gunn bei Glen Mhor im Vertrieb. Die hohe Qualität des Whiskys (und vielleicht auch Gunns Verkaufsgeschick) führten dazu, dass Glen Mhor schon sehr früh auch als Single Malt erhältlich war – trotz des Booms der Blended Whiskys. 1954 wurden eine eigene Trommelmälzerei eröffnet, die auch von der gegenüber liegenden Glen Albyn Distillery mitgenutzt wurde. Die gehörte seit 1920 ebenfalls zu Mackinlay & Birnie Ltd. 1972 wurde Glen Mhor von William Birnie, dem Sohn von John, an die Distillers Company Limited (DCL) verkauft. 1980 legte man zuerst die Mälzerei still, 1983 letztlich die komplette Brennerei. 1988 wurden die Gebäude abgerissen, um einem Supermarkt Platz zu machen.


Was habe ich da eigentlich im Glas?

Der Glen Mhor war und ist ein wunderbarer Highland Malt. Ein runder, weicher Körper mit üppiger Süße, einem Hauch von Pfeffer und Gewürzen, fein durchzogen von rauchigen Noten.


3 Gründe, Glen Mhor zu lieben

1) Weil der Malt alles richtig macht.
2) Weil ein großer Malt gut zum großen Tal passt.
3) Weil der Name nach viel Schottland klingt.


Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Die Originalabfüllungen aus der Rare Malts-Reihe sind ein Traum. Allerdings mittlerweile ein schwer zu realisierender.


Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: (ehemals) Great North Road, Inverness, Inverness-shire IV3 5LD
Gegründet: 1892 von John Birnie und John Mackinlay
Status: abgerissen
Besitzer: (zuletzt) Distillers Company Ltd. (DCL)
Kapazität: (ehemals) ca. 1.500.000 Liter
1 Wash stills
1 Spirit still
Wasser: (ehemals) River Ness
Visitor Centre: -
Telefon: -
Website:  -

Übersetzung: Großes Tal Region: (Nördliche) Highlands Selbst ist der Mann. Was macht man, wenn man als Destilleriemanager gern Anteile der Brennerei kaufen möchte – einem dies aber verwehrt... mehr erfahren »
Fenster schließen
Glen Mhor

Übersetzung: Großes Tal
Region: (Nördliche) Highlands


Selbst ist der Mann.

Was macht man, wenn man als Destilleriemanager gern Anteile der Brennerei kaufen möchte – einem dies aber verwehrt wird? Richtig: Man baut einfach nebenan seine eigene Destillerie. So jedenfalls machte es John Birnie, der Manager der Glen Albyn Distillery in Inverness. Als er nicht Miteigentümer werden konnte, errichtete er 1892 zusammen mit John Mackinlay direkt gegenüber die Brennerei Glen Mhor. Das machte er so gut, dass der Ruf von Glen Mhor sehr bald den von Glen Albyn übertraf. Und knapp 30 Jahre später erwarb der gute John die Glen Albyn Destillerie dann tatsächlich doch noch. Gut nur, dass er nicht mehr miterleben musste, wie beide Destillerien abgerissen wurden, um Platz zu machen für ein Shoppingcenter.


Ein bisschen Geschichte

Glen Mhor (gesprochen "Glen wor“) wurde 1892 von John Birnie und John Mackinlay im Norden von Inverness gegründet. Der Name bezieht sich auf die tektonische Verwerfung des sogenannten Great Glen („Großes Tal“), in dem die Brennerei liegt. Im Dezember 1894 lief der erste Spirit aus den Pot Stills. In den 20er- und 30er-Jahren arbeitete der schottische Schriftsteller Neil Gunn bei Glen Mhor im Vertrieb. Die hohe Qualität des Whiskys (und vielleicht auch Gunns Verkaufsgeschick) führten dazu, dass Glen Mhor schon sehr früh auch als Single Malt erhältlich war – trotz des Booms der Blended Whiskys. 1954 wurden eine eigene Trommelmälzerei eröffnet, die auch von der gegenüber liegenden Glen Albyn Distillery mitgenutzt wurde. Die gehörte seit 1920 ebenfalls zu Mackinlay & Birnie Ltd. 1972 wurde Glen Mhor von William Birnie, dem Sohn von John, an die Distillers Company Limited (DCL) verkauft. 1980 legte man zuerst die Mälzerei still, 1983 letztlich die komplette Brennerei. 1988 wurden die Gebäude abgerissen, um einem Supermarkt Platz zu machen.


Was habe ich da eigentlich im Glas?

Der Glen Mhor war und ist ein wunderbarer Highland Malt. Ein runder, weicher Körper mit üppiger Süße, einem Hauch von Pfeffer und Gewürzen, fein durchzogen von rauchigen Noten.


3 Gründe, Glen Mhor zu lieben

1) Weil der Malt alles richtig macht.
2) Weil ein großer Malt gut zum großen Tal passt.
3) Weil der Name nach viel Schottland klingt.


Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Die Originalabfüllungen aus der Rare Malts-Reihe sind ein Traum. Allerdings mittlerweile ein schwer zu realisierender.


Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: (ehemals) Great North Road, Inverness, Inverness-shire IV3 5LD
Gegründet: 1892 von John Birnie und John Mackinlay
Status: abgerissen
Besitzer: (zuletzt) Distillers Company Ltd. (DCL)
Kapazität: (ehemals) ca. 1.500.000 Liter
1 Wash stills
1 Spirit still
Wasser: (ehemals) River Ness
Visitor Centre: -
Telefon: -
Website:  -

Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Zuletzt angesehen