window.ga=window.ga||function(){(ga.q=ga.q||[]).push(arguments)};ga.l=+new Date; ga('create', 'UA-43850283-1', 'auto'); ga('require', 'GTM-KCDD7PG'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('require', 'displayfeatures'); ga('require', 'cleanUrlTracker'); ga('require', 'outboundLinkTracker'); ga('require', 'ec'); ga('send', 'pageview'); ga('set', 'nonInteraction', true); setTimeout("ga('send', 'event', 'read', '20 seconds')", 20000);

Rosebank

Translation: Rosenufer
Region: Lowlands


The queen is dead. Long live the queen?

When Rosebank closed in 1993, it was not just the end of another distillery. Rosebank, The Queen of the Lowlands, was an institution. The traditional, typical triple distillation, the fresh, light body, the aromas of grass, apples and pears: For not a few whiskey connoisseurs Rosebank would have been the obvious Lowland representative in UD's "Classic Malts" series. There, however, they opted for Glenkinchie - and Rosebank closed in 1993.
Since then, lovers hope that the distillery will be revived again. But chances are bad. The buildings have been sold and now house apartments and restaurants. At the beginning of 2010, much of the old distillery equipment was also stolen. No, it does not look like a happy ending for the Queen of the Lowlands ...


A little history

The origins of Rosebank are somewhat in the fog. A distillery of this name probably already existed from 1817-1819. It did not give birth to the Rosebank distillery here. In all likelihood, it was not founded until around 1840 by James Rankine, and whiskey has been burned on the site since 1798.
Opposite Rosebank, on the other side of the Forth-Clyde Canal, was the Camelon Distillery, which Maltings leased to Rankine and used for Rosebank. Camelon was closed in 1861 and bought and demolished by RW Rankine, James' son, who now ran Rosebank, except for the malting floors.
In 1914, Rosebank, along with Clydesdale, Glenkinchie, Grange, and St. Magdalene, was one of the founding distilleries of the later so great and influential Scottish Malt Distillers (SMD).
Between 1917-1919 was not produced.
In 1968, the old (Camelon) Maltings were closed and demolished.
In 1987, United Distillers (now Diageo) acquired Rosebank and closed it in May 1993. In 2002, the buildings were sold to British Waterways, which converted them into apartments and restaurants.

What do I actually have in the glass?

Fresh & Flowery, Grass & Grain, Flower Meadow & Apple Trees - Lowland!

3 reasons to love Rosebank

1) Because at least the memory stays alive.
2) Because Rosebank Lowland is at it's best.
3) Because big love stories usually end tragically.

The one drama for the lonely island

Unfortunately, there are hardly any more Rosebanks and the few have their price. Therefore: Try every dram you can get hold of. And if it should be something very special: The rare 21-year-old original bottling is a dream.

numbers and facts

Address: Falkirk, Stirlingshire, FK1 5BW
Founded: (presumably) in 1840 by James Rankine
Status: shut down, dismantled
Owner: Diageo (license), British Waterways (building)
Capacity: formerly: about 320,000 liters
1 wash still
2 spirit stills (for triple distillation)
Water: Carron Valley Reservoir
Visitor Center: -
Telephone: -
Website: www.discoverrosebank.com

Translation: Rosenufer Region: Lowlands The queen is dead. Long live the queen? When Rosebank closed in 1993, it was not just the end of another distillery. Rosebank, The Queen of the... read more »
Close window
Rosebank

Translation: Rosenufer
Region: Lowlands


The queen is dead. Long live the queen?

When Rosebank closed in 1993, it was not just the end of another distillery. Rosebank, The Queen of the Lowlands, was an institution. The traditional, typical triple distillation, the fresh, light body, the aromas of grass, apples and pears: For not a few whiskey connoisseurs Rosebank would have been the obvious Lowland representative in UD's "Classic Malts" series. There, however, they opted for Glenkinchie - and Rosebank closed in 1993.
Since then, lovers hope that the distillery will be revived again. But chances are bad. The buildings have been sold and now house apartments and restaurants. At the beginning of 2010, much of the old distillery equipment was also stolen. No, it does not look like a happy ending for the Queen of the Lowlands ...


A little history

The origins of Rosebank are somewhat in the fog. A distillery of this name probably already existed from 1817-1819. It did not give birth to the Rosebank distillery here. In all likelihood, it was not founded until around 1840 by James Rankine, and whiskey has been burned on the site since 1798.
Opposite Rosebank, on the other side of the Forth-Clyde Canal, was the Camelon Distillery, which Maltings leased to Rankine and used for Rosebank. Camelon was closed in 1861 and bought and demolished by RW Rankine, James' son, who now ran Rosebank, except for the malting floors.
In 1914, Rosebank, along with Clydesdale, Glenkinchie, Grange, and St. Magdalene, was one of the founding distilleries of the later so great and influential Scottish Malt Distillers (SMD).
Between 1917-1919 was not produced.
In 1968, the old (Camelon) Maltings were closed and demolished.
In 1987, United Distillers (now Diageo) acquired Rosebank and closed it in May 1993. In 2002, the buildings were sold to British Waterways, which converted them into apartments and restaurants.

What do I actually have in the glass?

Fresh & Flowery, Grass & Grain, Flower Meadow & Apple Trees - Lowland!

3 reasons to love Rosebank

1) Because at least the memory stays alive.
2) Because Rosebank Lowland is at it's best.
3) Because big love stories usually end tragically.

The one drama for the lonely island

Unfortunately, there are hardly any more Rosebanks and the few have their price. Therefore: Try every dram you can get hold of. And if it should be something very special: The rare 21-year-old original bottling is a dream.

numbers and facts

Address: Falkirk, Stirlingshire, FK1 5BW
Founded: (presumably) in 1840 by James Rankine
Status: shut down, dismantled
Owner: Diageo (license), British Waterways (building)
Capacity: formerly: about 320,000 liters
1 wash still
2 spirit stills (for triple distillation)
Water: Carron Valley Reservoir
Visitor Center: -
Telephone: -
Website: www.discoverrosebank.com

No results were found for the filter!
Viewed

window.ga=window.ga||function(){(ga.q=ga.q||[]).push(arguments)};ga.l=+new Date; ga('create', 'UA-43850283-1', 'auto'); ga('require', 'GTM-KCDD7PG'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('require', 'displayfeatures'); ga('require', 'cleanUrlTracker'); ga('require', 'outboundLinkTracker'); ga('require', 'ec'); ga('send', 'pageview'); ga('set', 'nonInteraction', true); setTimeout("ga('send', 'event', 'read', '20 seconds')", 20000);

Rosebank

Übersetzung: Rosenufer                
Region: Lowlands


Die Königin ist tot. Es lebe die Königin?

Als Rosebank 1993 geschlossen wurde, war das nicht einfach nur das Ende einer weiteren Destillerie. Rosebank, The Queen of the Lowlands”, war eine Institution. Die traditionelle, typische Dreifach-Destillation, der frische, leichte Körper, die Aromen von Gras, Äpfel und Birnen: Für nicht wenige Whiskykenner wäre Rosebank der naheliegende Lowland-Repräsentant in UDs “Classic Malts”-Reihe gewesen. Dort aber entschied man sich für Glenkinchie - und schloss Rosebank 1993. 
Seitdem hoffen Liebhaber darauf, dass die Destillerie doch noch einmal zu neuem Leben erweckt wird. Aber die Chancen stehen schlecht. Die Gebäude wurden verkauft und beherbergen mittlerweile Wohnungen und Restaurants. Anfang 2010 wurde zudem ein Großteil des alten Brennerei-Equipments gestohlen. Nein, es sieht nicht nach einem Happy End für die Königin der Lowlands aus…


Ein bisschen Geschichte

Die Ursprünge von Rosebank liegen etwas im Nebel. Eine Brennerei dieses Namens hat es wohl schon von 1817-1819 gegeben. Aus ihr ist die hier gemeinte Rosebank-Destillerie aber nicht hervorgegangen. Die wurde aller Wahrscheinlichkeit nach erst um 1840 durch James Rankine gegründet, wobei auf dem Gelände schon seit 1798 Whisky gebrannt worden sein soll. 
Direkt gegenüber von Rosebank, auf der anderen Seite des Forth-Clyde Kanals, gab es bereits die Camelon Destillerie, deren Maltings James Rankine pachtete und für Rosebank nutzte. Camelon wurde 1861 geschlossen und von R. W. Rankine, James’ Sohn, der inzwischen Rosebank leitete, gekauft und abgerissen – bis auf die Mälzböden.  
1914 war Rosebank zusammen mit Clydesdale, Glenkinchie, Grange und St. Magdalene eine der Gründungsdestillerien der später so großen und einflussreichen Scottish Malt Distillers (SMD). 
Zwischen 1917 bis 1919 wurde nicht produziert. 
1968 wurden die alten (Camelon-)Maltings geschlossen und abgerissen. 
1987 erwarben United Destillers (heute Diageo) Rosebank und schlossen sie im Mai 1993. Im Jahr 2002 wurden die Gebäude an British Waterways verkauft, die sie zu Wohnungen und Restaurants umbauen ließen.

 

Was habe ich da eigentlich im Glas?

Frisch & blumig, Gras & Getreide, Blumenwiese & Apfelbäume – Lowland!

 

3 Gründe, Rosebank zu lieben

1)    Weil so wenigstens die Erinnerung am Leben bleibt.
2)    Weil Rosebank Lowland at it’s best ist.
3)    Weil große Liebesgeschichten meistens tragisch enden.

 

Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Es gibt leider kaum noch Rosebanks und die wenigen haben ihren Preis. Deshalb: Probieren Sie jeden dram, dessen Sie habhaft werden können. Und wenn es etwas ganz besonderes sein soll: Die rare 21-jährige Originalabfüllung ist ein Traum. 

 

Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: Falkirk, Stirlingshire, FK1 5BW
Gegründet: (vermutlich) 1840 von James Rankine    
Status:    stillgelegt, demontiert     
Besitzer: Diageo (Lizenz), British Waterways (Gebäude)
Kapazität: ehemals: ca. 320.000 Liter
1 wash still 
2 spirit stills (für Dreifach-Destillation)
Wasser:    Carron Valley Reservoir
Visitor Centre:    -
Telefon: -
Website: www.discoverrosebank.com

Übersetzung: Rosenufer                 Region: Lowlands Die Königin ist tot. Es lebe die Königin? Als Rosebank 1993 geschlossen... mehr erfahren »
Fenster schließen
Rosebank

Übersetzung: Rosenufer                
Region: Lowlands


Die Königin ist tot. Es lebe die Königin?

Als Rosebank 1993 geschlossen wurde, war das nicht einfach nur das Ende einer weiteren Destillerie. Rosebank, The Queen of the Lowlands”, war eine Institution. Die traditionelle, typische Dreifach-Destillation, der frische, leichte Körper, die Aromen von Gras, Äpfel und Birnen: Für nicht wenige Whiskykenner wäre Rosebank der naheliegende Lowland-Repräsentant in UDs “Classic Malts”-Reihe gewesen. Dort aber entschied man sich für Glenkinchie - und schloss Rosebank 1993. 
Seitdem hoffen Liebhaber darauf, dass die Destillerie doch noch einmal zu neuem Leben erweckt wird. Aber die Chancen stehen schlecht. Die Gebäude wurden verkauft und beherbergen mittlerweile Wohnungen und Restaurants. Anfang 2010 wurde zudem ein Großteil des alten Brennerei-Equipments gestohlen. Nein, es sieht nicht nach einem Happy End für die Königin der Lowlands aus…


Ein bisschen Geschichte

Die Ursprünge von Rosebank liegen etwas im Nebel. Eine Brennerei dieses Namens hat es wohl schon von 1817-1819 gegeben. Aus ihr ist die hier gemeinte Rosebank-Destillerie aber nicht hervorgegangen. Die wurde aller Wahrscheinlichkeit nach erst um 1840 durch James Rankine gegründet, wobei auf dem Gelände schon seit 1798 Whisky gebrannt worden sein soll. 
Direkt gegenüber von Rosebank, auf der anderen Seite des Forth-Clyde Kanals, gab es bereits die Camelon Destillerie, deren Maltings James Rankine pachtete und für Rosebank nutzte. Camelon wurde 1861 geschlossen und von R. W. Rankine, James’ Sohn, der inzwischen Rosebank leitete, gekauft und abgerissen – bis auf die Mälzböden.  
1914 war Rosebank zusammen mit Clydesdale, Glenkinchie, Grange und St. Magdalene eine der Gründungsdestillerien der später so großen und einflussreichen Scottish Malt Distillers (SMD). 
Zwischen 1917 bis 1919 wurde nicht produziert. 
1968 wurden die alten (Camelon-)Maltings geschlossen und abgerissen. 
1987 erwarben United Destillers (heute Diageo) Rosebank und schlossen sie im Mai 1993. Im Jahr 2002 wurden die Gebäude an British Waterways verkauft, die sie zu Wohnungen und Restaurants umbauen ließen.

 

Was habe ich da eigentlich im Glas?

Frisch & blumig, Gras & Getreide, Blumenwiese & Apfelbäume – Lowland!

 

3 Gründe, Rosebank zu lieben

1)    Weil so wenigstens die Erinnerung am Leben bleibt.
2)    Weil Rosebank Lowland at it’s best ist.
3)    Weil große Liebesgeschichten meistens tragisch enden.

 

Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Es gibt leider kaum noch Rosebanks und die wenigen haben ihren Preis. Deshalb: Probieren Sie jeden dram, dessen Sie habhaft werden können. Und wenn es etwas ganz besonderes sein soll: Die rare 21-jährige Originalabfüllung ist ein Traum. 

 

Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: Falkirk, Stirlingshire, FK1 5BW
Gegründet: (vermutlich) 1840 von James Rankine    
Status:    stillgelegt, demontiert     
Besitzer: Diageo (Lizenz), British Waterways (Gebäude)
Kapazität: ehemals: ca. 320.000 Liter
1 wash still 
2 spirit stills (für Dreifach-Destillation)
Wasser:    Carron Valley Reservoir
Visitor Centre:    -
Telefon: -
Website: www.discoverrosebank.com

Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Zuletzt angesehen