window.ga=window.ga||function(){(ga.q=ga.q||[]).push(arguments)};ga.l=+new Date; ga('create', 'UA-43850283-1', 'auto'); ga('require', 'GTM-KCDD7PG'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('require', 'displayfeatures'); ga('require', 'cleanUrlTracker'); ga('require', 'outboundLinkTracker'); ga('require', 'ec'); ga('send', 'pageview'); ga('set', 'nonInteraction', true); setTimeout("ga('send', 'event', 'read', '20 seconds')", 20000);
- NIKOLAUS SALE - FROM 12/06/2022 TO MONDAY, 12/12/2022 YOU WILL RECEIVE
15% DISCOUNT ON PRODUCTS IN THE NOKOLAUS-SALE CATEGORY Code: NIKOLAUS

Strathclyde

Translation: Valley of the River Clyde
Region: Lowlands


A minute's silence for Kinclaith.

The Strathclyde Distillery is probably more famous for the Kinclaith Malt than for its own Grain Whiskey. And that's what happened: The Kinclaith Distillery was built in 1957 on the distillery of Strathclyde - and closed again in 1975. Short life, few bottlings, interesting Malt: So Kinclaith became a coveted myth among collectors. An early death not only helps rock stars to later fame. And Strathclyde? Lives and just keeps producing. Which is not the worst thing.

A little history

The Strathclyde Distillery was founded in 1927 by the Scottish Grain Distillery Co. The conveniently located in the middle of Glasgow distillery should serve exclusively for the production of grain whiskey. In 1957, however, the Kinclaith distillery, which produced malt whiskey, was also built on the premises. Already in 1975, after the sale to Whitebread & Co, Kinclaith but was closed again to make room for the extension of Strathclyde. In 2002, the distillery was modernized and expanded. Since 2005 Strathclyde belongs to Pernod Ricard.


What do I actually have in the glass?

To describe the basic Strathclyde character is not so easy, because there is no official Destillerieabfüllung. And the few bottlings of the independents are sometimes very different. What they all have in common is the vanilla sweetness and soft body typical of Grain Whiskeys.


3 reasons to love Strathclyde

1) Because without Grain Whiskey there would be no blends and therefore (almost) no malts.
2) Because we somehow owe Strathclyde the Kinclaith as well.
3) Because deserve the love that are not beauties.


The one drama for the lonely island

The 40 year old Strathclyde 1974/2014 from the XOP Selection by Douglas Laing XOP is a dream. Unfortunately not a cheap one ...


numbers and facts

Address: 40 Moffat Street, Glasgow G5 0QB
Founded in 1927 by the Scottish Grain Distillery Co
Status: active
Owner: Pernod Ricard
Capacity: approx. 39,000,000 liters
7 Coffey stills
Water: Loch Katrine
Visitor Center: -
Telephone: +44 (0) 141 429 2024
Website: -

Translation: Valley of the River Clyde Region: Lowlands A minute's silence for Kinclaith. The Strathclyde Distillery is probably more famous for the Kinclaith Malt than for its own... read more »
Close window
Strathclyde

Translation: Valley of the River Clyde
Region: Lowlands


A minute's silence for Kinclaith.

The Strathclyde Distillery is probably more famous for the Kinclaith Malt than for its own Grain Whiskey. And that's what happened: The Kinclaith Distillery was built in 1957 on the distillery of Strathclyde - and closed again in 1975. Short life, few bottlings, interesting Malt: So Kinclaith became a coveted myth among collectors. An early death not only helps rock stars to later fame. And Strathclyde? Lives and just keeps producing. Which is not the worst thing.

A little history

The Strathclyde Distillery was founded in 1927 by the Scottish Grain Distillery Co. The conveniently located in the middle of Glasgow distillery should serve exclusively for the production of grain whiskey. In 1957, however, the Kinclaith distillery, which produced malt whiskey, was also built on the premises. Already in 1975, after the sale to Whitebread & Co, Kinclaith but was closed again to make room for the extension of Strathclyde. In 2002, the distillery was modernized and expanded. Since 2005 Strathclyde belongs to Pernod Ricard.


What do I actually have in the glass?

To describe the basic Strathclyde character is not so easy, because there is no official Destillerieabfüllung. And the few bottlings of the independents are sometimes very different. What they all have in common is the vanilla sweetness and soft body typical of Grain Whiskeys.


3 reasons to love Strathclyde

1) Because without Grain Whiskey there would be no blends and therefore (almost) no malts.
2) Because we somehow owe Strathclyde the Kinclaith as well.
3) Because deserve the love that are not beauties.


The one drama for the lonely island

The 40 year old Strathclyde 1974/2014 from the XOP Selection by Douglas Laing XOP is a dream. Unfortunately not a cheap one ...


numbers and facts

Address: 40 Moffat Street, Glasgow G5 0QB
Founded in 1927 by the Scottish Grain Distillery Co
Status: active
Owner: Pernod Ricard
Capacity: approx. 39,000,000 liters
7 Coffey stills
Water: Loch Katrine
Visitor Center: -
Telephone: +44 (0) 141 429 2024
Website: -

Top seller
Strathclyde 16 Jahre Refill Barrel Douglas Laing "Old Particular" 48,4%vol. 0,7l Strathclyde 16 year old Refill Barrel Douglas...
€74.49 *
(€106.41* pro 1,0l)
Content: 0.7l
Natural colour
Close filters
 
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
No results were found for the filter!
Strathclyde 16 Jahre Refill Barrel Douglas Laing "Old Particular" 48,4%vol. 0,7l
Strathclyde 16 year old Refill Barrel Douglas...
€74.49 *
(€106.41* pro 1,0l)
Content: 0.7l
Natural colour
Viewed

window.ga=window.ga||function(){(ga.q=ga.q||[]).push(arguments)};ga.l=+new Date; ga('create', 'UA-43850283-1', 'auto'); ga('require', 'GTM-KCDD7PG'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('require', 'displayfeatures'); ga('require', 'cleanUrlTracker'); ga('require', 'outboundLinkTracker'); ga('require', 'ec'); ga('send', 'pageview'); ga('set', 'nonInteraction', true); setTimeout("ga('send', 'event', 'read', '20 seconds')", 20000);

Strathclyde

Übersetzung: Tal des River Clyde         
Region: Lowlands


Eine Gedenkminute für Kinclaith.

Berühmter als für den eigenen Grain Whisky ist die Strathclyde Distillery wahrscheinlich für den Kinclaith Malt. Und das kam so: Die Kinclaith Distillery wurde 1957 auf dem Brennereigelände von Strathclyde errichtet – und schon 1975 wieder geschlossen. Kurzes Leben, wenige Abfüllungen, interessanter Malt: So wurde Kinclaith zu einem unter Sammlern heiß begehrten Mythos. Ein früher Tod verhilft eben nicht nur Rockstars zu späterem Ruhm. Und Strathclyde? Lebt und produziert einfach weiter.  Was ja auch nicht das Schlechteste ist.

 

Ein bisschen Geschichte

Die Strathclyde-Destillerie wurde 1927 von der Scottish Grain Distillery Co. gegründet. Die verkehrsgünstig mitten in Glasgow gelegene Brennerei sollte ausschließlich der Produktion von Grain Whisky dienen. 1957 wurde auf dem Betriebsgelände allerdings zusätzlich die Kinclaith-Brennerei errichtet, die Malt Whisky herstellte. Schon 1975, nach dem Verkauf an Whitebread & Co, wurde Kinclaith aber wieder geschlossen, um Platz zu machen für die Erweiterung von Strathclyde. 2002 wurde die Brennerei modernisiert und erweitert. Seit 2005 gehört Strathclyde zu Pernod Ricard.


Was habe ich da eigentlich im Glas?

Den grundsätzlichen Strathclyde-Charakter zu beschreiben ist nicht so leicht, denn es gibt keine offizielle Destillerieabfüllung. Und die wenigen Abfüllungen der Unabhängigen unterscheiden sich zum Teil sehr. Allen gemeinsam ist  aber die für Grain Whiskys typische vanillige Süße und der weiche Körper.


3 Gründe, Strathclyde zu lieben

1) Weil es ohne Grain Whisky keine Blends und damit auch (fast) keine Malts gäbe.
2) Weil wir Strathclyde irgendwie auch den Kinclaith verdanken.
3) Weil auch die Liebe verdienen, die keine Schönheiten sind.


Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Der 40 Jahre alte Strathclyde 1974/2014 aus der XOP Selection von Douglas Laing XOP ist ein Traum. Leider kein ganz billiger...


Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: 40 Moffat Street, Glasgow G5 0QB
Gegründet: 1927 von der Scottish Grain Distillery Co
Status: aktiv
Besitzer: Pernod Ricard
Kapazität: ca. 39.000.000 Liter
7  Coffey stills 
Wasser: Loch Katrine
Visitor Centre: -
Telefon: +44 (0)141 429 2024
Website:  -

Übersetzung: Tal des River Clyde          Region: Lowlands Eine Gedenkminute für Kinclaith. Berühmter als für den eigenen Grain Whisky... mehr erfahren »
Fenster schließen
Strathclyde

Übersetzung: Tal des River Clyde         
Region: Lowlands


Eine Gedenkminute für Kinclaith.

Berühmter als für den eigenen Grain Whisky ist die Strathclyde Distillery wahrscheinlich für den Kinclaith Malt. Und das kam so: Die Kinclaith Distillery wurde 1957 auf dem Brennereigelände von Strathclyde errichtet – und schon 1975 wieder geschlossen. Kurzes Leben, wenige Abfüllungen, interessanter Malt: So wurde Kinclaith zu einem unter Sammlern heiß begehrten Mythos. Ein früher Tod verhilft eben nicht nur Rockstars zu späterem Ruhm. Und Strathclyde? Lebt und produziert einfach weiter.  Was ja auch nicht das Schlechteste ist.

 

Ein bisschen Geschichte

Die Strathclyde-Destillerie wurde 1927 von der Scottish Grain Distillery Co. gegründet. Die verkehrsgünstig mitten in Glasgow gelegene Brennerei sollte ausschließlich der Produktion von Grain Whisky dienen. 1957 wurde auf dem Betriebsgelände allerdings zusätzlich die Kinclaith-Brennerei errichtet, die Malt Whisky herstellte. Schon 1975, nach dem Verkauf an Whitebread & Co, wurde Kinclaith aber wieder geschlossen, um Platz zu machen für die Erweiterung von Strathclyde. 2002 wurde die Brennerei modernisiert und erweitert. Seit 2005 gehört Strathclyde zu Pernod Ricard.


Was habe ich da eigentlich im Glas?

Den grundsätzlichen Strathclyde-Charakter zu beschreiben ist nicht so leicht, denn es gibt keine offizielle Destillerieabfüllung. Und die wenigen Abfüllungen der Unabhängigen unterscheiden sich zum Teil sehr. Allen gemeinsam ist  aber die für Grain Whiskys typische vanillige Süße und der weiche Körper.


3 Gründe, Strathclyde zu lieben

1) Weil es ohne Grain Whisky keine Blends und damit auch (fast) keine Malts gäbe.
2) Weil wir Strathclyde irgendwie auch den Kinclaith verdanken.
3) Weil auch die Liebe verdienen, die keine Schönheiten sind.


Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Der 40 Jahre alte Strathclyde 1974/2014 aus der XOP Selection von Douglas Laing XOP ist ein Traum. Leider kein ganz billiger...


Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: 40 Moffat Street, Glasgow G5 0QB
Gegründet: 1927 von der Scottish Grain Distillery Co
Status: aktiv
Besitzer: Pernod Ricard
Kapazität: ca. 39.000.000 Liter
7  Coffey stills 
Wasser: Loch Katrine
Visitor Centre: -
Telefon: +44 (0)141 429 2024
Website:  -

Topseller
Strathclyde 16 Jahre Refill Barrel Douglas Laing "Old Particular" 48,4%vol. 0,7l Strathclyde 16 Jahre Refill Barrel Douglas...
74,49 € *
(106,41 €* pro 1,0l)
Inhalt: 0.7l
Ohne Farbstoff
Filter schließen
 
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Strathclyde 16 Jahre Refill Barrel Douglas Laing "Old Particular" 48,4%vol. 0,7l
Strathclyde 16 Jahre Refill Barrel Douglas...
74,49 € *
(106,41 €* pro 1,0l)
Inhalt: 0.7l
Ohne Farbstoff
Zuletzt angesehen