SPECIAL OF THE MONTH - GLENFIDDICH 21 YEAR OLD - CHINESE NEW YEAR - NOW ON SALE - BUY NOW

Cambus

Translation: -
Region: Lowlands


Everything went well for 100 years ...

Cambus is one of the oldest distilleries in Scotland. As early as 1806 John Mowbray is said to have begun to convert an old mill on the River Devon to a distillery. In 1813, the first Grain whiskey flowed from the tubular Coffey stills. For a long time everything was going remarkably well. Under John's grandson Robert Mowbray, Cambus became Scotland's largest grain distillery. In 1877 Cambus was one of the five founding members of Distillers Company Ltd. (DCL), which has shaped the whiskey world for many decades. The crisis between 1900 and 1914, triggered by the crash of the large whiskey trader Pattison, survived largely unscathed.
In 1914, however, the catastrophe: A heavy fire destroyed the distillery almost completely. It was not until 1938 that the business could be resumed. Cambus has meanwhile almost returned to its old strength - but was decommissioned in 1993. Today, only the warehouses are still used. Reopening? Probably not. Pity about an important chapter in whiskey history.


A little history

The Grain Distillery was founded in 1813 by John Mowbray, who rebuilt an old flour mill near Tullibody on the River Devon. Cambus was one of the first (legal) distilleries in Scotland and at times the country's largest grain distillery. In 1877 Cambus was one of the founding members of Distiller Company Ltd. (DCL). In 1906, they launched their first bottling: a seven year old single grain whiskey. In 1914, a large fire destroyed the production buildings. The operation could not be resumed until 1938. In 1966, the Scottish Grain took over Distillers Cambus, which ultimately brought the distillery into the possession of Diageo. In 1993, the distillery was shut down. Since then, Diageo has been using Cambus warehouses to fill and store barrels from other distilleries.


What do I actually have in the glass?

Also for Cambus applies as for all Grain distilleries: There is little or no original bottlings as a single grain. Because the grain whiskey produced here should serve as a "filler" for the blended whiskeys. The individual cask bottlings of the independents naturally differ quite clearly depending on the barrel and age. A long-matured Cambus can be wonderfully soft and round, with distinct hints of vanilla, biscuits, toffee and fine sweetness.


3 reasons to love Cambus

1) Because the whiskey world owes a lot to this distillery.
2) Because an old Cambus Single Grain does not have to hide behind a malt.
3) Because Grain Whiskey and the Lowlands are much more exciting than you might think.


The one drama for the lonely island

The 18-year-old from 1991/2010 from Signatorys Cask Strength Collection adds interesting influences from the refine Sherry Butt to the grains-typical vanilla and toffee notes. A complex pleasure!


numbers and facts

Address: (former) Station Road, Cambus, Alloa, Clackmannanshire FK 10 2NY
Founded: 1813 by John Mowbray
Status: shut down
Owner: Diageo
Capacity: (formerly) 2 Coffey stills
Water: (formerly) Lossburn Reservoir
Visitor Center: -
Telephone: -
Website: -

Translation: - Region: Lowlands Everything went well for 100 years ... Cambus is one of the oldest distilleries in Scotland. As early as 1806 John Mowbray is said to have begun to... read more »
Close window
Cambus

Translation: -
Region: Lowlands


Everything went well for 100 years ...

Cambus is one of the oldest distilleries in Scotland. As early as 1806 John Mowbray is said to have begun to convert an old mill on the River Devon to a distillery. In 1813, the first Grain whiskey flowed from the tubular Coffey stills. For a long time everything was going remarkably well. Under John's grandson Robert Mowbray, Cambus became Scotland's largest grain distillery. In 1877 Cambus was one of the five founding members of Distillers Company Ltd. (DCL), which has shaped the whiskey world for many decades. The crisis between 1900 and 1914, triggered by the crash of the large whiskey trader Pattison, survived largely unscathed.
In 1914, however, the catastrophe: A heavy fire destroyed the distillery almost completely. It was not until 1938 that the business could be resumed. Cambus has meanwhile almost returned to its old strength - but was decommissioned in 1993. Today, only the warehouses are still used. Reopening? Probably not. Pity about an important chapter in whiskey history.


A little history

The Grain Distillery was founded in 1813 by John Mowbray, who rebuilt an old flour mill near Tullibody on the River Devon. Cambus was one of the first (legal) distilleries in Scotland and at times the country's largest grain distillery. In 1877 Cambus was one of the founding members of Distiller Company Ltd. (DCL). In 1906, they launched their first bottling: a seven year old single grain whiskey. In 1914, a large fire destroyed the production buildings. The operation could not be resumed until 1938. In 1966, the Scottish Grain took over Distillers Cambus, which ultimately brought the distillery into the possession of Diageo. In 1993, the distillery was shut down. Since then, Diageo has been using Cambus warehouses to fill and store barrels from other distilleries.


What do I actually have in the glass?

Also for Cambus applies as for all Grain distilleries: There is little or no original bottlings as a single grain. Because the grain whiskey produced here should serve as a "filler" for the blended whiskeys. The individual cask bottlings of the independents naturally differ quite clearly depending on the barrel and age. A long-matured Cambus can be wonderfully soft and round, with distinct hints of vanilla, biscuits, toffee and fine sweetness.


3 reasons to love Cambus

1) Because the whiskey world owes a lot to this distillery.
2) Because an old Cambus Single Grain does not have to hide behind a malt.
3) Because Grain Whiskey and the Lowlands are much more exciting than you might think.


The one drama for the lonely island

The 18-year-old from 1991/2010 from Signatorys Cask Strength Collection adds interesting influences from the refine Sherry Butt to the grains-typical vanilla and toffee notes. A complex pleasure!


numbers and facts

Address: (former) Station Road, Cambus, Alloa, Clackmannanshire FK 10 2NY
Founded: 1813 by John Mowbray
Status: shut down
Owner: Diageo
Capacity: (formerly) 2 Coffey stills
Water: (formerly) Lossburn Reservoir
Visitor Center: -
Telephone: -
Website: -

No results were found for the filter!
Viewed

window.ga=window.ga||function(){(ga.q=ga.q||[]).push(arguments)};ga.l=+new Date; ga('create', 'UA-43850283-1', 'auto'); ga('require', 'GTM-KCDD7PG'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('require', 'displayfeatures'); ga('require', 'cleanUrlTracker'); ga('require', 'outboundLinkTracker'); ga('require', 'ec'); ga('send', 'pageview'); ga('set', 'nonInteraction', true); setTimeout("ga('send', 'event', 'read', '20 seconds')", 20000);
WIR BEDANKEN UND FÜR DIE TREUE UNSERER KUNDEN MIT 10% RABATT AUF ALLE PRODUKTE (AB 100 EUR WARENWERT)
CODE: DANKE-2022 - GÜLTIG BIS MONTAG 03.10.2022

Cambus

Übersetzung: -
Region: Lowlands


100 Jahre ging alles gut...

Cambus gehört zu den ältesten Destillerien Schottlands. Schon 1806 soll John Mowbray begonnen haben, eine alte Mühle am River Devon zu einer Destillerie umzubauen. 1813 floss hier der erste Grain Whisky aus den röhrenförmigen Coffey stills. Ab da lief lange Zeit alles bemerkenswert gut. Unter Johns Enkel Robert Mowbray wurde Cambus zur größten Grain-Brennerei Schottlands. 1877 war Cambus eines der fünf Gründungsmitglieder der Distillers Company Ltd. (DCL), die über viele Jahrzehnte die Whiskywelt maßgeblich prägte. Auch die Krise zwischen 1900 und 1914, ausgelöst durch den Crash des großen Whiskyhändlers Pattison, überstand man weitestgehend unbeschadet. 
Im Jahr 1914 aber dann die Katastrophe: Ein schwerer Brand zerstörte die Destillerie fast vollständig. Erst 1938 konnte der Betrieb wieder aufgenommen werden. Cambus fand zwischenzeitlich fast zur alten Stärke zurück – wurde aber 1993 stillgelegt. Heute werden nur die Lagerhäuser noch genutzt. Wiedereröffnung? Wohl nicht. Schade um ein wichtiges Kapitel Whiskygeschichte.


Ein bisschen Geschichte

Die Grain-Brennerei wurde 1813 von John Mowbray gegründet, der hierzu eine alte Getreidemühle bei Tullibody am River Devon umbaute. Cambus war eine der ersten (legalen) Destillerien Schottlands und zeitweilig auch die größte Grain-Destillerie des Landes. 1877 gehörte Cambus zu den Gründungsmitgliedern der Distiller Company Ltd. (DCL). 1906 brachte man die erste eigene Abfüllung auf den Markt: Einen sieben Jahre alten Single Grain Whisky. 1914 zerstörte ein großes Feuer die Produktionsgebäude. Der Betrieb konnte erst 1938 wiederaufgenommen werden. 1966 übernahmen die Scottish Grain Distillers Cambus, wodurch die Destillerie letztlich in den Besitz von Diageo kam. 1993 wurde die Brennerei stillgelegt. Diageo nutzt die Lagerhäuser von Cambus seitdem noch zur Befüllung und Lagerung von Fässern aus anderen Destillerien.


Was habe ich da eigentlich im Glas?

Auch für Cambus gilt wie für eigentlich alle Grain-Destillerien: Es gibt kaum oder keine Original-Abfüllungen als Single Grain. Denn der hier produzierte Grain Whisky sollte als „Füllstoff“ für die Blended Whiskys dienen. Die Einzelfassabfüllungen der Unabhängigen unterscheiden sich naturgemäß je nach Fass und Alter zum Teil recht deutlich. Ein lange gereifter Cambus kann wunderbar weich und rund sein, mit deutlichen Anklängen von Vanille, Keksen, Toffee und feiner Süße.


3 Gründe, Cambus zu lieben

1) Weil die Whiskywelt dieser Destillerie viel zu verdanken hat.
2) Weil ein alter Cambus Single Grain sich hinter keinem Malt verstecken muss.
3) Weil Grain Whisky und die Lowlands viel spannender sind, als man vielleicht meint.


Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Der 18-jährige von 1991/2010 aus Signatorys Cask Strength Collection fügt den grain-typischen Vanille- und Toffeenoten interessante Einflüsse aus dem Refill Sherry Butt hinzu. Ein vielschichtiger Genuss!


Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: (ehemals) Station Road, Cambus, Alloa, Clackmannanshire FK 10 2NY 
Gegründet: 1813 von John Mowbray
Status: stillgelegt
Besitzer: Diageo
Kapazität: (ehemals) 2 Coffey stills 
Wasser: (ehemals) Lossburn Reservoir
Visitor Centre: -
Telefon: -
Website:  -

Übersetzung: - Region: Lowlands 100 Jahre ging alles gut... Cambus gehört zu den ältesten Destillerien Schottlands. Schon 1806 soll John Mowbray begonnen haben, eine... mehr erfahren »
Fenster schließen
Cambus

Übersetzung: -
Region: Lowlands


100 Jahre ging alles gut...

Cambus gehört zu den ältesten Destillerien Schottlands. Schon 1806 soll John Mowbray begonnen haben, eine alte Mühle am River Devon zu einer Destillerie umzubauen. 1813 floss hier der erste Grain Whisky aus den röhrenförmigen Coffey stills. Ab da lief lange Zeit alles bemerkenswert gut. Unter Johns Enkel Robert Mowbray wurde Cambus zur größten Grain-Brennerei Schottlands. 1877 war Cambus eines der fünf Gründungsmitglieder der Distillers Company Ltd. (DCL), die über viele Jahrzehnte die Whiskywelt maßgeblich prägte. Auch die Krise zwischen 1900 und 1914, ausgelöst durch den Crash des großen Whiskyhändlers Pattison, überstand man weitestgehend unbeschadet. 
Im Jahr 1914 aber dann die Katastrophe: Ein schwerer Brand zerstörte die Destillerie fast vollständig. Erst 1938 konnte der Betrieb wieder aufgenommen werden. Cambus fand zwischenzeitlich fast zur alten Stärke zurück – wurde aber 1993 stillgelegt. Heute werden nur die Lagerhäuser noch genutzt. Wiedereröffnung? Wohl nicht. Schade um ein wichtiges Kapitel Whiskygeschichte.


Ein bisschen Geschichte

Die Grain-Brennerei wurde 1813 von John Mowbray gegründet, der hierzu eine alte Getreidemühle bei Tullibody am River Devon umbaute. Cambus war eine der ersten (legalen) Destillerien Schottlands und zeitweilig auch die größte Grain-Destillerie des Landes. 1877 gehörte Cambus zu den Gründungsmitgliedern der Distiller Company Ltd. (DCL). 1906 brachte man die erste eigene Abfüllung auf den Markt: Einen sieben Jahre alten Single Grain Whisky. 1914 zerstörte ein großes Feuer die Produktionsgebäude. Der Betrieb konnte erst 1938 wiederaufgenommen werden. 1966 übernahmen die Scottish Grain Distillers Cambus, wodurch die Destillerie letztlich in den Besitz von Diageo kam. 1993 wurde die Brennerei stillgelegt. Diageo nutzt die Lagerhäuser von Cambus seitdem noch zur Befüllung und Lagerung von Fässern aus anderen Destillerien.


Was habe ich da eigentlich im Glas?

Auch für Cambus gilt wie für eigentlich alle Grain-Destillerien: Es gibt kaum oder keine Original-Abfüllungen als Single Grain. Denn der hier produzierte Grain Whisky sollte als „Füllstoff“ für die Blended Whiskys dienen. Die Einzelfassabfüllungen der Unabhängigen unterscheiden sich naturgemäß je nach Fass und Alter zum Teil recht deutlich. Ein lange gereifter Cambus kann wunderbar weich und rund sein, mit deutlichen Anklängen von Vanille, Keksen, Toffee und feiner Süße.


3 Gründe, Cambus zu lieben

1) Weil die Whiskywelt dieser Destillerie viel zu verdanken hat.
2) Weil ein alter Cambus Single Grain sich hinter keinem Malt verstecken muss.
3) Weil Grain Whisky und die Lowlands viel spannender sind, als man vielleicht meint.


Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Der 18-jährige von 1991/2010 aus Signatorys Cask Strength Collection fügt den grain-typischen Vanille- und Toffeenoten interessante Einflüsse aus dem Refill Sherry Butt hinzu. Ein vielschichtiger Genuss!


Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: (ehemals) Station Road, Cambus, Alloa, Clackmannanshire FK 10 2NY 
Gegründet: 1813 von John Mowbray
Status: stillgelegt
Besitzer: Diageo
Kapazität: (ehemals) 2 Coffey stills 
Wasser: (ehemals) Lossburn Reservoir
Visitor Centre: -
Telefon: -
Website:  -

Topseller
Cambus 30 Jahre 1991/2022 Refill Hogshead Douglas Laing XOP 59,5%vol. 0,7l Cambus 30 Jahre 1991/2022 Refill Hogshead...
349,99 € *
(499,99 €* pro 1,0l)
Inhalt: 0.7l
Ohne Farbstoff
Filter schließen
 
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Cambus 30 Jahre 1991/2022 Refill Hogshead Douglas Laing XOP 59,5%vol. 0,7l
Cambus 30 Jahre 1991/2022 Refill Hogshead...
349,99 € *
(499,99 €* pro 1,0l)
Inhalt: 0.7l
Ohne Farbstoff
Zuletzt angesehen