window.ga=window.ga||function(){(ga.q=ga.q||[]).push(arguments)};ga.l=+new Date; ga('create', 'UA-43850283-1', 'auto'); ga('require', 'GTM-KCDD7PG'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('require', 'displayfeatures'); ga('require', 'cleanUrlTracker'); ga('require', 'outboundLinkTracker'); ga('require', 'ec'); ga('send', 'pageview'); ga('set', 'nonInteraction', true); setTimeout("ga('send', 'event', 'read', '20 seconds')", 20000);
- NIKOLAUS SALE - FROM 12/06/2022 TO MONDAY, 12/12/2022 YOU WILL RECEIVE
15% DISCOUNT ON PRODUCTS IN THE NOKOLAUS-SALE CATEGORY Code: NIKOLAUS

Pittyvaich

Translation: Place of the cow stable
Region: Speyside


"Pitti-who?"

This reaction is usually similar to the naming of this distillery. What a pity. But somehow understandable. For the Pittyvaich distillery was granted only a short life and there are hardly any bottlings of this single malts. Actually, Pittyvaich, which was built in 1974 as a sister distillery of the Dufftown Distillery on their grounds, should only produce malt for the popular blended whiskeys Arthur Bell. The demand was probably overestimated. Already in 1993, the company was shut down, the distillery in 2002 finally demolished.
And that's really "a pity": a pity.


A little history

The distillery was built in 1974 by Arthur Bell & Sons on the grounds of the Dufftown Distillery. Pittyvaich was designed as a sister company to this distillery, her four stills were exact replicas of those used at Dufftown. The malt produced by Pittyvaich should only be used for the blended whiskeys of Arthur Bell. In 1985, the distillery went to United Distillers (UD), which brought in 1991 for the first time a Pittyvaich single malt in their Flora & Fauna series on the market. In 1993, the malt production was discontinued. For a while, there were experiments with other grains and the production of Gordon's gin. In 2002, the buildings were demolished
What do I actually have in the glass?
With only two original bottlings of this distillery, the typical character is not easy to name. Basically, it can be said that the Pittyvaich Malt has a full, almost creamy-oily body, a deep malty sweetness, delicate spicy notes and a hint of smoke.


3 reasons to love Pittyvaich

1) Because the name alone makes you curious.
2) Because the malt warms so nicely.
3) Because what is scarce always has a special charm.


The one drama for the lonely island

The 12-year-old original bottling from the Flora & Fauna series showed outstanding, which characterizes this unfortunately often underestimated malt: A lush body with malty sweetness, sherry tones and a long, long finish.


numbers and facts

Address: (former) Dufftown, Banffshire AB55 4BR
Founded: 1974
Status: demolished
Owner: (last) Diageo
Capacity: (formerly)
2 wash stills (15,000 l)
2 spirit stills (15,000 l)
Water: (formerly) Convalleys and Balliemore Springs
Visitor Center: -
Telephone: -
Website: -

Translation: Place of the cow stable Region: Speyside "Pitti-who?" This reaction is usually similar to the naming of this distillery. What a pity. But somehow understandable.... read more »
Close window
Pittyvaich

Translation: Place of the cow stable
Region: Speyside


"Pitti-who?"

This reaction is usually similar to the naming of this distillery. What a pity. But somehow understandable. For the Pittyvaich distillery was granted only a short life and there are hardly any bottlings of this single malts. Actually, Pittyvaich, which was built in 1974 as a sister distillery of the Dufftown Distillery on their grounds, should only produce malt for the popular blended whiskeys Arthur Bell. The demand was probably overestimated. Already in 1993, the company was shut down, the distillery in 2002 finally demolished.
And that's really "a pity": a pity.


A little history

The distillery was built in 1974 by Arthur Bell & Sons on the grounds of the Dufftown Distillery. Pittyvaich was designed as a sister company to this distillery, her four stills were exact replicas of those used at Dufftown. The malt produced by Pittyvaich should only be used for the blended whiskeys of Arthur Bell. In 1985, the distillery went to United Distillers (UD), which brought in 1991 for the first time a Pittyvaich single malt in their Flora & Fauna series on the market. In 1993, the malt production was discontinued. For a while, there were experiments with other grains and the production of Gordon's gin. In 2002, the buildings were demolished
What do I actually have in the glass?
With only two original bottlings of this distillery, the typical character is not easy to name. Basically, it can be said that the Pittyvaich Malt has a full, almost creamy-oily body, a deep malty sweetness, delicate spicy notes and a hint of smoke.


3 reasons to love Pittyvaich

1) Because the name alone makes you curious.
2) Because the malt warms so nicely.
3) Because what is scarce always has a special charm.


The one drama for the lonely island

The 12-year-old original bottling from the Flora & Fauna series showed outstanding, which characterizes this unfortunately often underestimated malt: A lush body with malty sweetness, sherry tones and a long, long finish.


numbers and facts

Address: (former) Dufftown, Banffshire AB55 4BR
Founded: 1974
Status: demolished
Owner: (last) Diageo
Capacity: (formerly)
2 wash stills (15,000 l)
2 spirit stills (15,000 l)
Water: (formerly) Convalleys and Balliemore Springs
Visitor Center: -
Telephone: -
Website: -

No results were found for the filter!
Viewed

window.ga=window.ga||function(){(ga.q=ga.q||[]).push(arguments)};ga.l=+new Date; ga('create', 'UA-43850283-1', 'auto'); ga('require', 'GTM-KCDD7PG'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('require', 'displayfeatures'); ga('require', 'cleanUrlTracker'); ga('require', 'outboundLinkTracker'); ga('require', 'ec'); ga('send', 'pageview'); ga('set', 'nonInteraction', true); setTimeout("ga('send', 'event', 'read', '20 seconds')", 20000);

Pittyvaich

Übersetzung: Platz des Kuhstalls
Region: Speyside


„Pitti-wer?“

So oder so ähnlich fällt zumeist die Reaktion auf die Nennung dieser Destillerie aus. Was schade ist. Aber irgendwie verständlich. Denn der Pittyvaich-Destillerie war nur ein kurzes Leben vergönnt und es gibt kaum Abfüllungen dieses Single Malts. Eigentlich sollte Pittyvaich, die 1974 als Schwesterbrennerei der Dufftown Distillery auf deren Gelände errichtet wurde, lediglich Malt für die populären Blended Whiskys von Arthur Bell  produzieren. Der Bedarf wurde aber wohl überschätzt. Schon 1993 wurde der Betrieb eingestellt, die Brennerei 2002 schließlich abgerissen. 
Und das ist nun wirklich „a pity“: sehr schade.


Ein bisschen Geschichte

Die Brennerei wurde 1974 von Arthur Bell & Sons auf dem Gelände der Dufftown Distillery erbaut. Pittyvaich war konzipiert als Schwesterbetrieb dieser Destillerie, ihre vier Brennblasen waren exakte Nachbauten der bei  Dufftown eingesetzten. Der von Pittyvaich produzierte Malt sollte ausschließlich für die Blended Whiskys von Arthur Bell Verwendung finden. 1985 ging die Destillerie an United Distillers (UD), die 1991 erstmals einen Pittyvaich Single Malt innerhalb ihrer Flora & Fauna-Serie auf den Markt brachten. 1993 wurde die Malt-Produktion eingestellt. Eine Zeit lang gab es noch Experimente mit anderen Getreidesorten sowie der Herstellung von Gordon’s Gin. Im Jahr 2002 wurden die Gebäude abgerissen
Was habe ich da eigentlich im Glas?
Bei lediglich zwei Originalabfüllungen dieser Destillerie ist der typische Charakter nicht leicht zu benennen. Grundsätzlich kann man sagen, dass der Pittyvaich Malt einen vollen, fast cremig-öligen Körper hat, eine tiefe malzige Süße, zarte Gewürznoten und eine Andeutung von Rauch. 


3 Gründe, Pittyvaich zu lieben

1) Weil alleine der Name schon neugierig macht.
2) Weil der Malt so schön wärmt.
3) Weil das, was rar ist, immer einen besonderen Reiz hat.


Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Die 12 Jahre alte Originalabfüllung aus der Flora & Fauna-Serie zeigte hervorragend, was diesen leider oft unterschätzten Malt auszeichnet: Ein üppiger Körper mit malziger Süße, Sherrytönen und einem langen, langen Abgang.


Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: (ehemals) Dufftown, Banffshire AB55 4BR
Gegründet: 1974
Status: abgerissen
Besitzer: (zuletzt) Diageo
Kapazität: (ehemals)
2 Wash stills ( 15.000 l)
2 Spirit stills ( 15.000 l)
Wasser: (ehemals) Convalleys und Balliemore Springs
Visitor Centre: -
Telefon: -
Website:  -

Übersetzung: Platz des Kuhstalls Region: Speyside „Pitti-wer?“ So oder so ähnlich fällt zumeist die Reaktion auf die Nennung dieser Destillerie aus. Was schade ist. Aber irgendwie... mehr erfahren »
Fenster schließen
Pittyvaich

Übersetzung: Platz des Kuhstalls
Region: Speyside


„Pitti-wer?“

So oder so ähnlich fällt zumeist die Reaktion auf die Nennung dieser Destillerie aus. Was schade ist. Aber irgendwie verständlich. Denn der Pittyvaich-Destillerie war nur ein kurzes Leben vergönnt und es gibt kaum Abfüllungen dieses Single Malts. Eigentlich sollte Pittyvaich, die 1974 als Schwesterbrennerei der Dufftown Distillery auf deren Gelände errichtet wurde, lediglich Malt für die populären Blended Whiskys von Arthur Bell  produzieren. Der Bedarf wurde aber wohl überschätzt. Schon 1993 wurde der Betrieb eingestellt, die Brennerei 2002 schließlich abgerissen. 
Und das ist nun wirklich „a pity“: sehr schade.


Ein bisschen Geschichte

Die Brennerei wurde 1974 von Arthur Bell & Sons auf dem Gelände der Dufftown Distillery erbaut. Pittyvaich war konzipiert als Schwesterbetrieb dieser Destillerie, ihre vier Brennblasen waren exakte Nachbauten der bei  Dufftown eingesetzten. Der von Pittyvaich produzierte Malt sollte ausschließlich für die Blended Whiskys von Arthur Bell Verwendung finden. 1985 ging die Destillerie an United Distillers (UD), die 1991 erstmals einen Pittyvaich Single Malt innerhalb ihrer Flora & Fauna-Serie auf den Markt brachten. 1993 wurde die Malt-Produktion eingestellt. Eine Zeit lang gab es noch Experimente mit anderen Getreidesorten sowie der Herstellung von Gordon’s Gin. Im Jahr 2002 wurden die Gebäude abgerissen
Was habe ich da eigentlich im Glas?
Bei lediglich zwei Originalabfüllungen dieser Destillerie ist der typische Charakter nicht leicht zu benennen. Grundsätzlich kann man sagen, dass der Pittyvaich Malt einen vollen, fast cremig-öligen Körper hat, eine tiefe malzige Süße, zarte Gewürznoten und eine Andeutung von Rauch. 


3 Gründe, Pittyvaich zu lieben

1) Weil alleine der Name schon neugierig macht.
2) Weil der Malt so schön wärmt.
3) Weil das, was rar ist, immer einen besonderen Reiz hat.


Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Die 12 Jahre alte Originalabfüllung aus der Flora & Fauna-Serie zeigte hervorragend, was diesen leider oft unterschätzten Malt auszeichnet: Ein üppiger Körper mit malziger Süße, Sherrytönen und einem langen, langen Abgang.


Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: (ehemals) Dufftown, Banffshire AB55 4BR
Gegründet: 1974
Status: abgerissen
Besitzer: (zuletzt) Diageo
Kapazität: (ehemals)
2 Wash stills ( 15.000 l)
2 Spirit stills ( 15.000 l)
Wasser: (ehemals) Convalleys und Balliemore Springs
Visitor Centre: -
Telefon: -
Website:  -

Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Zuletzt angesehen