window.ga=window.ga||function(){(ga.q=ga.q||[]).push(arguments)};ga.l=+new Date; ga('create', 'UA-43850283-1', 'auto'); ga('require', 'GTM-KCDD7PG'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('require', 'displayfeatures'); ga('require', 'cleanUrlTracker'); ga('require', 'outboundLinkTracker'); ga('require', 'ec'); ga('send', 'pageview'); ga('set', 'nonInteraction', true); setTimeout("ga('send', 'event', 'read', '20 seconds')", 20000);

Brora

Translation: River bridge
Region: (Northern) Highlands


Why Brora was not always Brora.

Until 1968, the distillery Clynelish was founded in 1819. Brora was just the name of the place where she stood. Then, however, the owners set up a second distillery directly opposite. They called her - also "Clynelish". The old, original Clynelish distillery was renamed "Brora". Under this name, she continued to produce her powerful, smoky whiskey until it was closed in 1983. The facilities and buildings are still not demolished. But a revival is more than unlikely. Too bad.


A little history

The distillery was built in 1819 as Clynelish by George Granville Levison-Gower, the second Marquis of Stafford and later Duke of Sutherland. With the construction of its own distillery, the Marquis wanted to take the numerous black-burners the basis of their "business" and move them to resettle.
The first decades of the distillery were characterized by numerous changes of tenants. Under George Lawson came from 1846 for the first time continuity in the management of the distillery.
In 1896 the distillery was then sold to James Ainslie and John Risk, who already owned the Banker Distillery in Banknock. In 1925, the Distillers Company Ltd. acquired. (DCL) the distillery, which belonged so from 1930 to the Scottish Malt Distillers. Between 1931 and 1939 Clynelish / Brora was closed.
In 1968, the new, second Clynelish distillery went into operation. For further story from there: see above ...


What do I actually have in the glass?

Very big taste cinema! Brora is one of the big names among malt lovers and makes her eyes shine like Ardbeg or Sprinbank. Full, complex, smoky, delicately sweet, lush and yet not superficial in spite of all its power.


3 reasons to love Brora

1) Because you only have to try it once.
2) Because you only have to try it once.
3) Because you only have to try it once.


The one drama for the lonely island

Every Brora that can still be found today is a revelation to Maltese friends. Special popularity was, as long as still available, the 1982 from the Rare Malts Selection.


numbers and facts

Address: Brora, Sutherland KW9 6LR
Founded: 1819 by the Marquis of Stafford, 1st Duke of Sutherland
Status: closed (since 1983)
Owner: Diageo
Capacity: formerly about 1,000,000 liters
1 wash still
1 spirit still
Water: formerly Clynemilton Burn
Visitor Center: -
Telephone: -
Website: -

Translation: River bridge Region: (Northern) Highlands Why Brora was not always Brora. Until 1968, the distillery Clynelish was founded in 1819. Brora was just the name of the place... read more »
Close window
Brora

Translation: River bridge
Region: (Northern) Highlands


Why Brora was not always Brora.

Until 1968, the distillery Clynelish was founded in 1819. Brora was just the name of the place where she stood. Then, however, the owners set up a second distillery directly opposite. They called her - also "Clynelish". The old, original Clynelish distillery was renamed "Brora". Under this name, she continued to produce her powerful, smoky whiskey until it was closed in 1983. The facilities and buildings are still not demolished. But a revival is more than unlikely. Too bad.


A little history

The distillery was built in 1819 as Clynelish by George Granville Levison-Gower, the second Marquis of Stafford and later Duke of Sutherland. With the construction of its own distillery, the Marquis wanted to take the numerous black-burners the basis of their "business" and move them to resettle.
The first decades of the distillery were characterized by numerous changes of tenants. Under George Lawson came from 1846 for the first time continuity in the management of the distillery.
In 1896 the distillery was then sold to James Ainslie and John Risk, who already owned the Banker Distillery in Banknock. In 1925, the Distillers Company Ltd. acquired. (DCL) the distillery, which belonged so from 1930 to the Scottish Malt Distillers. Between 1931 and 1939 Clynelish / Brora was closed.
In 1968, the new, second Clynelish distillery went into operation. For further story from there: see above ...


What do I actually have in the glass?

Very big taste cinema! Brora is one of the big names among malt lovers and makes her eyes shine like Ardbeg or Sprinbank. Full, complex, smoky, delicately sweet, lush and yet not superficial in spite of all its power.


3 reasons to love Brora

1) Because you only have to try it once.
2) Because you only have to try it once.
3) Because you only have to try it once.


The one drama for the lonely island

Every Brora that can still be found today is a revelation to Maltese friends. Special popularity was, as long as still available, the 1982 from the Rare Malts Selection.


numbers and facts

Address: Brora, Sutherland KW9 6LR
Founded: 1819 by the Marquis of Stafford, 1st Duke of Sutherland
Status: closed (since 1983)
Owner: Diageo
Capacity: formerly about 1,000,000 liters
1 wash still
1 spirit still
Water: formerly Clynemilton Burn
Visitor Center: -
Telephone: -
Website: -

No results were found for the filter!
Viewed

SPECIAL DES MONATS - HENDRICK'S GRAND CABARET GIN - NEU UND LIMITIERT - ZUM SONDERPREIS - JETZT ZUGREIFEN

Brora

Übersetzung: Flussbrücke                
Region: (Nördliche) Highlands


Weshalb Brora nicht immer Brora war.

Bis 1968 hieß die 1819 gegründete Brennerei Clynelish. Brora war lediglich der Name des Ortes, in dem sie stand. Dann allerdings errichteten die Eigentümer eine zweite Destillerie direkt gegenüber. Die nannten sie – ebenfalls “Clynelish”. Die alte, ursprüngliche Clynelish-Brennerei benannte man um in “Brora”. Unter diesem Namen produzierte sie dann weiterhin ihren kraftvollen, rauchigen Whisky, bis sie 1983 geschlossen wurde. Noch sind die Anlagen und Gebäude zwar nicht abgerissen. Aber eine Wiederbelebung ist mehr als unwahrscheinlich. Schade.


Ein bisschen Geschichte

Die Destillerie wurde 1819 als Clynelish von George Granville Levison-Gower, dem zweiten Marquis of Stafford und späterem Duke of Sutherland errichtet. Mit dem Bau einer eigenen Brennerei wollte der Marquis den zahlreichen Schwarzbrennern die Grundlage ihres „Geschäfts“ nehmen und sie zur Umsiedlung bewegen. 
Die ersten Jahrzehnte der Brennerei waren geprägt von zahlreichen Wechseln der Pächter. Unter George Lawson kam ab 1846 erstmals Kontinuität in die Leitung der Brennerei. 
1896 wurde die Destillerie dann an James Ainslie und John Risk, dem schon die Bankier Distillery in Banknock gehörte, verkauft. 1925 erwarb die Distillers Company Ltd. (DCL) die Brennerei, die damit ab 1930 zu den Scottish Malt Distillers gehörte. Zwischen 1931 und 1939 war Clynelish/Brora geschlossen.
1968 ging dann die neue, zweite Clynelish Brennerei in Betrieb. Zur weiteren Geschichte ab da: siehe oben...


Was habe ich da eigentlich im Glas?

Ganz großes Geschmackskino! Brora ist unter Malt Liebhabern einer DER großen Namen und lässt die Augen ähnlich leuchten wie Ardbeg oder Sprinbank. Voll, komplex, rauchig, zartsüß, üppig und bei aller Kraft trotzdem nicht vordergründig. 


3 Gründe, Brora zu lieben

1) Weil man ihn dafür nur einmal probiert haben muss.
2) Weil man ihn dafür nur einmal probiert haben muss.
3) Weil man ihn dafür nur einmal probiert haben muss.


Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Jeder Brora, dessen man heute noch habhaft werden kann, ist für Maltfreunde eine Offenbarung. Besonderer Beliebtheit erfreute sich, solange noch erhältlich, der 1982er aus der Rare Malts Selection. 


Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: Brora, Sutherland KW9 6LR
Gegründet: 1819 vom Marquis of Stafford, 1. Duke of Sutherland 
Status:    geschlossen (seit 1983)        
Besitzer: Diageo
Kapazität: ehemals ca. 1.000.000 Liter 
1 wash still            
1 spirit still 
Wasser:    ehemals Clynemilton Burn
Visitor Centre:    -
Telefon: -
Website: -

Übersetzung: Flussbrücke                 Region: (Nördliche) Highlands Weshalb Brora nicht immer Brora war. Bis 1968 hieß die 1819 gegründete Brennerei Clynelish . Brora war lediglich der... mehr erfahren »
Fenster schließen
Brora

Übersetzung: Flussbrücke                
Region: (Nördliche) Highlands


Weshalb Brora nicht immer Brora war.

Bis 1968 hieß die 1819 gegründete Brennerei Clynelish. Brora war lediglich der Name des Ortes, in dem sie stand. Dann allerdings errichteten die Eigentümer eine zweite Destillerie direkt gegenüber. Die nannten sie – ebenfalls “Clynelish”. Die alte, ursprüngliche Clynelish-Brennerei benannte man um in “Brora”. Unter diesem Namen produzierte sie dann weiterhin ihren kraftvollen, rauchigen Whisky, bis sie 1983 geschlossen wurde. Noch sind die Anlagen und Gebäude zwar nicht abgerissen. Aber eine Wiederbelebung ist mehr als unwahrscheinlich. Schade.


Ein bisschen Geschichte

Die Destillerie wurde 1819 als Clynelish von George Granville Levison-Gower, dem zweiten Marquis of Stafford und späterem Duke of Sutherland errichtet. Mit dem Bau einer eigenen Brennerei wollte der Marquis den zahlreichen Schwarzbrennern die Grundlage ihres „Geschäfts“ nehmen und sie zur Umsiedlung bewegen. 
Die ersten Jahrzehnte der Brennerei waren geprägt von zahlreichen Wechseln der Pächter. Unter George Lawson kam ab 1846 erstmals Kontinuität in die Leitung der Brennerei. 
1896 wurde die Destillerie dann an James Ainslie und John Risk, dem schon die Bankier Distillery in Banknock gehörte, verkauft. 1925 erwarb die Distillers Company Ltd. (DCL) die Brennerei, die damit ab 1930 zu den Scottish Malt Distillers gehörte. Zwischen 1931 und 1939 war Clynelish/Brora geschlossen.
1968 ging dann die neue, zweite Clynelish Brennerei in Betrieb. Zur weiteren Geschichte ab da: siehe oben...


Was habe ich da eigentlich im Glas?

Ganz großes Geschmackskino! Brora ist unter Malt Liebhabern einer DER großen Namen und lässt die Augen ähnlich leuchten wie Ardbeg oder Sprinbank. Voll, komplex, rauchig, zartsüß, üppig und bei aller Kraft trotzdem nicht vordergründig. 


3 Gründe, Brora zu lieben

1) Weil man ihn dafür nur einmal probiert haben muss.
2) Weil man ihn dafür nur einmal probiert haben muss.
3) Weil man ihn dafür nur einmal probiert haben muss.


Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Jeder Brora, dessen man heute noch habhaft werden kann, ist für Maltfreunde eine Offenbarung. Besonderer Beliebtheit erfreute sich, solange noch erhältlich, der 1982er aus der Rare Malts Selection. 


Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: Brora, Sutherland KW9 6LR
Gegründet: 1819 vom Marquis of Stafford, 1. Duke of Sutherland 
Status:    geschlossen (seit 1983)        
Besitzer: Diageo
Kapazität: ehemals ca. 1.000.000 Liter 
1 wash still            
1 spirit still 
Wasser:    ehemals Clynemilton Burn
Visitor Centre:    -
Telefon: -
Website: -

Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Zuletzt angesehen