Summer Sale 2024: Celebrate 20 years of Home of Malts with mega offers!

Tamnavulin

Translation: Mill on the mountain

Region: Speyside


From rivers, villages and confusing names.

Several Speyside distilleries refer or refer in their name to the "Livet", a tributary of the Spey. The most well-known example: the distillery Glenlivet. Also, Macallan or Braeval (formerly "Braes of Glenlivet"), to name but two, formerly wore the prestigious name addition "Glenlivet" on the label. Only: Most of the distilleries are not on this river. Tamnavulin actually lies on the River Livet. Directly. Poetier than any other distillery. But you have to ask yourself why the distillery is not called "Tomnavoulin". Because that's how the place in which it lies writes itself. Strange.

A little history

The Tamnavulin distillery was built in 1966 by the Tamnavulin-Glenlivet Distillery Company, an Invergordon subsidiary, on the River Livet. In 1994 she was bought by Whyte & Mackay - and shut down a year later. In May 2000, production was resumed for just 6 weeks. In 2007, White & Mackay went to United Spirits Limited, a subsidiary of the Indian The UB Group. In the same year the production started again with Tamnavulin, ran however in the following years in places with limited capacity. Since 2011 is again produced with full force. With around 4,000,000 liters, Tamnavulin is one of the largest distilleries in Scotland, but the lion's share of the malts goes, as is often the case, in the blended whiskeys of White & Mackay. Since 2014 Whyte & Mackay and thus also Tamnavulin belongs to Emperador International Ltd.

What do I actually have in the glass?

Characteristic of the Tamnavulin are floral, grassy aromas with delicate sweet notes of herbs and spices.

3 reasons to love Tamnavulin

1) Because it's so nice at Livet.

2) Because "The Mill on the Mountain" could be the title of an old-fashioned adventure novel.

3) Because grasses and spices are doing well in whiskey.


The one drama for the lonely island

Hard to get and not cheap, but a multi-faceted masterpiece: The 25-year-old from the "Stillman's gut" series.


numbers and facts

Address: Tomnavoulin, Ballindalloch, Banffshire AB37 9JA

Founded: 1966 by the Tamnavulin-Glenlivet Distillery Co. (Invergordon)

Status: active

Owner: Emperador International Ltd.

Capacity: approx. 4,000,000 liters

3 wash stills (25,000 l)

3 spirit stills (23.200 l)

Water: Unspecified underground source

Visitor Center: -

Telephone: +44 (0) 1807 590285

Website: -

Translation: Mill on the mountain Region: Speyside From rivers, villages and confusing names. Several Speyside distilleries refer or refer in their name to the "Livet", a tributary of... read more »
Close window
Tamnavulin

Translation: Mill on the mountain

Region: Speyside


From rivers, villages and confusing names.

Several Speyside distilleries refer or refer in their name to the "Livet", a tributary of the Spey. The most well-known example: the distillery Glenlivet. Also, Macallan or Braeval (formerly "Braes of Glenlivet"), to name but two, formerly wore the prestigious name addition "Glenlivet" on the label. Only: Most of the distilleries are not on this river. Tamnavulin actually lies on the River Livet. Directly. Poetier than any other distillery. But you have to ask yourself why the distillery is not called "Tomnavoulin". Because that's how the place in which it lies writes itself. Strange.

A little history

The Tamnavulin distillery was built in 1966 by the Tamnavulin-Glenlivet Distillery Company, an Invergordon subsidiary, on the River Livet. In 1994 she was bought by Whyte & Mackay - and shut down a year later. In May 2000, production was resumed for just 6 weeks. In 2007, White & Mackay went to United Spirits Limited, a subsidiary of the Indian The UB Group. In the same year the production started again with Tamnavulin, ran however in the following years in places with limited capacity. Since 2011 is again produced with full force. With around 4,000,000 liters, Tamnavulin is one of the largest distilleries in Scotland, but the lion's share of the malts goes, as is often the case, in the blended whiskeys of White & Mackay. Since 2014 Whyte & Mackay and thus also Tamnavulin belongs to Emperador International Ltd.

What do I actually have in the glass?

Characteristic of the Tamnavulin are floral, grassy aromas with delicate sweet notes of herbs and spices.

3 reasons to love Tamnavulin

1) Because it's so nice at Livet.

2) Because "The Mill on the Mountain" could be the title of an old-fashioned adventure novel.

3) Because grasses and spices are doing well in whiskey.


The one drama for the lonely island

Hard to get and not cheap, but a multi-faceted masterpiece: The 25-year-old from the "Stillman's gut" series.


numbers and facts

Address: Tomnavoulin, Ballindalloch, Banffshire AB37 9JA

Founded: 1966 by the Tamnavulin-Glenlivet Distillery Co. (Invergordon)

Status: active

Owner: Emperador International Ltd.

Capacity: approx. 4,000,000 liters

3 wash stills (25,000 l)

3 spirit stills (23.200 l)

Water: Unspecified underground source

Visitor Center: -

Telephone: +44 (0) 1807 590285

Website: -

Top seller
DSC_0078vhUYwPo5fpM2x.jpg Tamnavulin Tempranillo Cask Edition Single...
€34.99 * €38.99 * UVP
(€34.99* pro 1,0l)
Content: 1l
contains Colour
Close filters
 
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
No results were found for the filter!
DSC_0078vhUYwPo5fpM2x.jpg
Tamnavulin Tempranillo Cask Edition Single...
€38.99 * UVP €34.99 *
(€34.99* pro 1,0l)
Content: 1l
contains Colour
Viewed

window.ga=window.ga||function(){(ga.q=ga.q||[]).push(arguments)};ga.l=+new Date; ga('create', 'UA-43850283-1', 'auto'); ga('require', 'GTM-KCDD7PG'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('require', 'displayfeatures'); ga('require', 'cleanUrlTracker'); ga('require', 'outboundLinkTracker'); ga('require', 'ec'); ga('send', 'pageview'); ga('set', 'nonInteraction', true); setTimeout("ga('send', 'event', 'read', '20 seconds')", 20000);

Tamnavulin

Übersetzung: Mühle auf dem Berg            

Region: Speyside


Von Flüssen, Dörfern und verwirrenden Namen.

Etliche Speyside-Destillerien beziehen oder bezogen sich in ihrem Namen auf den "Livet", einen Nebenfluss des Spey. Bekanntestes Beispiel: die Destillerie Glenlivet. Auch Macallan oder Braeval (ehemals "Braes of Glenlivet"), um nur zwei zu nennen, trugen früher den prestigeträchtigen Namenszusatz "Glenlivet" auf dem Etikett. Nur: Die meisten der Brennereien liegen gar nicht an diesem Fluss. Tamnavulin dagegen liegt tatsächlich am River Livet. Direkt. Dichter als jede andere Brennerei. Bei ihr muss man sich allerdings fragen, warum die Destillerie eigentlich nicht "Tomnavoulin" heißt. Denn so schreibt sich der Ort, in dem sie liegt. Merkwürdig.
 

Ein bisschen Geschichte

Die Tamnavulin Destillerie wurde 1966 von der Tamnavulin-Glenlivet Distillery Company, einer Invergordon-Tochter, am River Livet errichtet. 1994 wurde sie von Whyte & Mackay gekauft - und schon ein Jahr darauf stillgelegt. Im Mai 2000 nahm man die Produktion für nur 6 Wochen wieder auf. 2007 ging White & Mackay an United Spirits Limited, eine Tochter der indischen The UB Group. Noch im selben Jahr startete die Produktion bei Tamnavulin wieder, lief in den Folgejahren aber streckenweise mit eingeschränkter Kapazität. Seit 2011 wird wieder mit voller Kraft produziert. Mit rund 4.000.000 Litern gehört Tamnavulin zu den größeren Brennereien Schottlands, der Löwenanteil des Malts geht aber, wie so oft, in die Blended Whiskys von White & Mackay. Seit 2014 gehört Whyte & Mackay und damit auch Tamnavulin zu Emperador International Ltd.
 

Was habe ich da eigentlich im Glas?

Charakteristisch für den Tamnavulin sind blumige, grasige Aromen mit zarter Süße deutlichen Noten von Kräutern und Gewürzen. 
 

3 Gründe, Tamnavulin zu lieben

1) Weil es am Livet so schön ist.

2) Weil "Die Mühle auf dem Berg" der Titel eines altmodischen Abenteuerromans sein könnte.

3) Weil Gräser und Gewürze sich gut im Whisky machen.


Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Schwer zu kriegen und nicht ganz billig, aber ein vielschichtiges Meisterwerk: Der 25-jährige aus der "Stillman's Darm"-Reihe. 


Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: Tomnavoulin, Ballindalloch, Banffshire AB37 9JA

Gegründet: 1966 von der Tamnavulin-Glenlivet Distillery Co. (Invergordon)

Status: aktiv

Besitzer: Emperador International Ltd.

Kapazität: ca. 4.000.000 Liter

3 wash stills (25.000 l)

3 spirit stills (23.200 l)

Wasser: Nicht näher benannte unterirdische Quelle

Visitor Centre: -

Telefon: +44 (0)1807 590285

Website: -

Übersetzung: Mühle auf dem Berg             Region: Speyside Von Flüssen, Dörfern und verwirrenden Namen. Etliche... mehr erfahren »
Fenster schließen
Tamnavulin

Übersetzung: Mühle auf dem Berg            

Region: Speyside


Von Flüssen, Dörfern und verwirrenden Namen.

Etliche Speyside-Destillerien beziehen oder bezogen sich in ihrem Namen auf den "Livet", einen Nebenfluss des Spey. Bekanntestes Beispiel: die Destillerie Glenlivet. Auch Macallan oder Braeval (ehemals "Braes of Glenlivet"), um nur zwei zu nennen, trugen früher den prestigeträchtigen Namenszusatz "Glenlivet" auf dem Etikett. Nur: Die meisten der Brennereien liegen gar nicht an diesem Fluss. Tamnavulin dagegen liegt tatsächlich am River Livet. Direkt. Dichter als jede andere Brennerei. Bei ihr muss man sich allerdings fragen, warum die Destillerie eigentlich nicht "Tomnavoulin" heißt. Denn so schreibt sich der Ort, in dem sie liegt. Merkwürdig.
 

Ein bisschen Geschichte

Die Tamnavulin Destillerie wurde 1966 von der Tamnavulin-Glenlivet Distillery Company, einer Invergordon-Tochter, am River Livet errichtet. 1994 wurde sie von Whyte & Mackay gekauft - und schon ein Jahr darauf stillgelegt. Im Mai 2000 nahm man die Produktion für nur 6 Wochen wieder auf. 2007 ging White & Mackay an United Spirits Limited, eine Tochter der indischen The UB Group. Noch im selben Jahr startete die Produktion bei Tamnavulin wieder, lief in den Folgejahren aber streckenweise mit eingeschränkter Kapazität. Seit 2011 wird wieder mit voller Kraft produziert. Mit rund 4.000.000 Litern gehört Tamnavulin zu den größeren Brennereien Schottlands, der Löwenanteil des Malts geht aber, wie so oft, in die Blended Whiskys von White & Mackay. Seit 2014 gehört Whyte & Mackay und damit auch Tamnavulin zu Emperador International Ltd.
 

Was habe ich da eigentlich im Glas?

Charakteristisch für den Tamnavulin sind blumige, grasige Aromen mit zarter Süße deutlichen Noten von Kräutern und Gewürzen. 
 

3 Gründe, Tamnavulin zu lieben

1) Weil es am Livet so schön ist.

2) Weil "Die Mühle auf dem Berg" der Titel eines altmodischen Abenteuerromans sein könnte.

3) Weil Gräser und Gewürze sich gut im Whisky machen.


Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Schwer zu kriegen und nicht ganz billig, aber ein vielschichtiges Meisterwerk: Der 25-jährige aus der "Stillman's Darm"-Reihe. 


Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: Tomnavoulin, Ballindalloch, Banffshire AB37 9JA

Gegründet: 1966 von der Tamnavulin-Glenlivet Distillery Co. (Invergordon)

Status: aktiv

Besitzer: Emperador International Ltd.

Kapazität: ca. 4.000.000 Liter

3 wash stills (25.000 l)

3 spirit stills (23.200 l)

Wasser: Nicht näher benannte unterirdische Quelle

Visitor Centre: -

Telefon: +44 (0)1807 590285

Website: -

Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Zuletzt angesehen