window.ga=window.ga||function(){(ga.q=ga.q||[]).push(arguments)};ga.l=+new Date; ga('create', 'UA-43850283-1', 'auto'); ga('require', 'GTM-KCDD7PG'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('require', 'displayfeatures'); ga('require', 'cleanUrlTracker'); ga('require', 'outboundLinkTracker'); ga('require', 'ec'); ga('send', 'pageview'); ga('set', 'nonInteraction', true); setTimeout("ga('send', 'event', 'read', '20 seconds')", 20000);

Invergordon

Translation: Mouth of the Gordon
Region: Northern Highlands


Famous lodgers are not everything.

For a while Invergordon is like Strathclyde's colleagues. For a short time there was also a Malt distillery on the grounds of both Grain Whiskey distilleries. At Strathclyde that was from 1957 to 1975, the Kinclaith distillery. Invergordon's "lodger" from 1965 to 1977 was Ben Wyvis. Just like Kinclaith, the Ben Wyvis Malt is a sought-after rarity among collectors today. But Invergordon - even more than Strathclyde - can also score with their own whiskey and records. Invergordon is the only Grain distillery in the Highlands. And because the Invergordon Single Highland Grain has been fairly active at times, it has probably been the entry into the world of Grain Whiskey for many. Not a bad start.


A little history

The Grain Distillery was founded in 1959 by Invergordon Distillers Ltd. built. Invergordon is the only Grain Distillery in the Highlands. Production began there in 1961, and in 1963 the two existing Coffey stills (also called column or patent stills) were supplemented by two more.
In 1965, the Malt distillery Ben Wyvis was built on the Invergordon site. However, it was shut down only 12 years later. In 1978, another, even larger, column still was installed. This made Invergordon one of the largest distilleries in Europe in terms of production capacity.
Invergordon was taken over by Whyte & Mackay in 1993, who in turn belong to the Philippine Emperador Group.


What do I actually have in the glass?

The Invergordon Grain seems to come right out of the Christmas bakery. It smells and tastes of vanilla, caramel, nut, candied fruits and spices. All involved in a slightly lighter, finer body than the malt cousins have. A feast for all biscuit and whiskey fans.


3 reasons to love Invergordon

1) Because this interesting Grain does not have to hide from anything or anyone.
2) Because there would have been no Ben Wyvis without Invergordon.
3) Because the Highlands without Grain distillery would miss something.


The one drama for the lonely island

The 21 year old Vintage 1993 from the Clan Denny series by Douglas Hamilton is a poem by a Grain. A single cask bottling with a powerful 51.1% vol. and an abundance of flavors and tastes: Toffee and caramel meet spices and citrus fruits, and the vanilla flirts with the coconut!


numbers and facts

Address: Cottage Brae, Invergordon, Ross & Cromarty, IV18 0HP
Founded: 1959 by Invergordon Distillers
Status: active
Owner: Whyte & Mackay (Emperador Inc.)
Capacity: about 36,000,000 liters
4 Coffey stills
Water: Hole Glass
Visitor Center: -
Telephone: +44 (0) 1349 - 852451
Website: -

Translation: Mouth of the Gordon Region: Northern Highlands Famous lodgers are not everything. For a while Invergordon is like Strathclyde's colleagues. For a short time there was... read more »
Close window
Invergordon

Translation: Mouth of the Gordon
Region: Northern Highlands


Famous lodgers are not everything.

For a while Invergordon is like Strathclyde's colleagues. For a short time there was also a Malt distillery on the grounds of both Grain Whiskey distilleries. At Strathclyde that was from 1957 to 1975, the Kinclaith distillery. Invergordon's "lodger" from 1965 to 1977 was Ben Wyvis. Just like Kinclaith, the Ben Wyvis Malt is a sought-after rarity among collectors today. But Invergordon - even more than Strathclyde - can also score with their own whiskey and records. Invergordon is the only Grain distillery in the Highlands. And because the Invergordon Single Highland Grain has been fairly active at times, it has probably been the entry into the world of Grain Whiskey for many. Not a bad start.


A little history

The Grain Distillery was founded in 1959 by Invergordon Distillers Ltd. built. Invergordon is the only Grain Distillery in the Highlands. Production began there in 1961, and in 1963 the two existing Coffey stills (also called column or patent stills) were supplemented by two more.
In 1965, the Malt distillery Ben Wyvis was built on the Invergordon site. However, it was shut down only 12 years later. In 1978, another, even larger, column still was installed. This made Invergordon one of the largest distilleries in Europe in terms of production capacity.
Invergordon was taken over by Whyte & Mackay in 1993, who in turn belong to the Philippine Emperador Group.


What do I actually have in the glass?

The Invergordon Grain seems to come right out of the Christmas bakery. It smells and tastes of vanilla, caramel, nut, candied fruits and spices. All involved in a slightly lighter, finer body than the malt cousins have. A feast for all biscuit and whiskey fans.


3 reasons to love Invergordon

1) Because this interesting Grain does not have to hide from anything or anyone.
2) Because there would have been no Ben Wyvis without Invergordon.
3) Because the Highlands without Grain distillery would miss something.


The one drama for the lonely island

The 21 year old Vintage 1993 from the Clan Denny series by Douglas Hamilton is a poem by a Grain. A single cask bottling with a powerful 51.1% vol. and an abundance of flavors and tastes: Toffee and caramel meet spices and citrus fruits, and the vanilla flirts with the coconut!


numbers and facts

Address: Cottage Brae, Invergordon, Ross & Cromarty, IV18 0HP
Founded: 1959 by Invergordon Distillers
Status: active
Owner: Whyte & Mackay (Emperador Inc.)
Capacity: about 36,000,000 liters
4 Coffey stills
Water: Hole Glass
Visitor Center: -
Telephone: +44 (0) 1349 - 852451
Website: -

No results were found for the filter!
Viewed

window.ga=window.ga||function(){(ga.q=ga.q||[]).push(arguments)};ga.l=+new Date; ga('create', 'UA-43850283-1', 'auto'); ga('require', 'GTM-KCDD7PG'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('require', 'displayfeatures'); ga('require', 'cleanUrlTracker'); ga('require', 'outboundLinkTracker'); ga('require', 'ec'); ga('send', 'pageview'); ga('set', 'nonInteraction', true); setTimeout("ga('send', 'event', 'read', '20 seconds')", 20000);

Invergordon

Übersetzung: Mündung des Gordon
Region: Nördliche Highlands


Berühmte Untermieter sind ja nicht alles.

Ein bisschen geht es Invergordon wie den Kollegen von Strathclyde. Auf dem Gelände beider Grain Whisky Destillerien gab es nämlich für kurze Zeit auch eine Malt Brennerei. Bei Strathclyde war das von 1957 bis 1975 die Kinclaith Destillerie. Invergordons „Untermieter“ von 1965 bis 1977 hieß Ben Wyvis. Genauso wie Kinclaith ist auch der Ben Wyvis Malt heute eine gefragte Rarität unter Sammlern. Aber Invergordon kann – mehr noch als Strathclyde - auch mit dem eigenen Whisky und Rekorden punkten. So ist Invergordon die einzige Grain Destillerie in den Highlands. Und weil der Invergordon Single Highland Grain zeitweise recht aktiv vermarktet wurde, ist er wahrscheinlich für viele der Eintritt in die Welt des Grain Whiskys gewesen. Kein schlechter Start.


Ein bisschen Geschichte

Die Grain Destillerie wurde 1959 von Invergordon Distillers Ltd.  errichtet. Gelegen im gleichnamigen Ort ist Invergordon die einzige Grain Distillery in den Highlands. 1961 begann hier die Produktion, 1963 ergänzte man die beiden vorhandenen Coffey Stills (auch Column- oder Patent Stills genannt) um zwei weitere. 
1965 errichtete man auf dem Invergordon-Gelände die Malt Brennerei Ben Wyvis. Sie wurde jedoch nur 12 Jahre später schon wieder geschlossen. 1978 installierte man eine weitere, noch größere Column Still. Damit war Invergordon von der Produktionskapazität her eine der größten Destillerien in Europa. 
1993 wurde Invergordon von Whyte & Mackay übernommen, die ihrerseits heute zum philippinischen Emperador-Konzern gehören.


Was habe ich da eigentlich im Glas?

Der Invergordon Grain scheint direkt aus der Weihnachtsbäckerei zu kommen. Es duftet und schmeckt nach Vanille, Karamell, Nuss, kandierten Früchten und Gewürzen. Alles eingebunden in einer etwas leichteren, feineren Körper als ihn die Malt-Cousins haben. Ein Fest für alle Keks- und Whisky-Fans.


3 Gründe, Invergordon zu lieben

1) Weil dieser interessante Grain sich vor nichts und niemanden verstecken muss.
2) Weil es ohne Invergordon keinen Ben Wyvis gegeben hätte.
3) Weil den Highlands ohne Grain Destillerie etwas fehlen würde.


Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Der 21 Jahre alte Vintage 1993 aus der Clan Denny-Serie von Douglas Hamilton ist ein Gedicht von einem Grain.  Eine Einzelfassabfüllung mit kraftvollen 51,1%vol. und einer überbordenden Fülle von Aromen und Geschmackseindrücken: Da treffen Toffee und Karamel auf Gewürze und Zitrusfrüchte und die Vanille flirtet mit der Kokosnuss!


Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: Cottage Brae, Invergordon, Ross & Cromarty, IV18 0HP
Gegründet: 1959 von Invergordon Distillers
Status: aktiv
Besitzer: Whyte & Mackay (Emperador Inc.)
Kapazität: ca. 36.000.000 Liter
4 Coffey stills
Wasser: Loch Glass
Visitor Centre: -
Telefon: +44 (0)1349 - 852451
Website:  -

Übersetzung: Mündung des Gordon Region: Nördliche Highlands Berühmte Untermieter sind ja nicht alles. Ein bisschen geht es Invergordon wie den Kollegen von... mehr erfahren »
Fenster schließen
Invergordon

Übersetzung: Mündung des Gordon
Region: Nördliche Highlands


Berühmte Untermieter sind ja nicht alles.

Ein bisschen geht es Invergordon wie den Kollegen von Strathclyde. Auf dem Gelände beider Grain Whisky Destillerien gab es nämlich für kurze Zeit auch eine Malt Brennerei. Bei Strathclyde war das von 1957 bis 1975 die Kinclaith Destillerie. Invergordons „Untermieter“ von 1965 bis 1977 hieß Ben Wyvis. Genauso wie Kinclaith ist auch der Ben Wyvis Malt heute eine gefragte Rarität unter Sammlern. Aber Invergordon kann – mehr noch als Strathclyde - auch mit dem eigenen Whisky und Rekorden punkten. So ist Invergordon die einzige Grain Destillerie in den Highlands. Und weil der Invergordon Single Highland Grain zeitweise recht aktiv vermarktet wurde, ist er wahrscheinlich für viele der Eintritt in die Welt des Grain Whiskys gewesen. Kein schlechter Start.


Ein bisschen Geschichte

Die Grain Destillerie wurde 1959 von Invergordon Distillers Ltd.  errichtet. Gelegen im gleichnamigen Ort ist Invergordon die einzige Grain Distillery in den Highlands. 1961 begann hier die Produktion, 1963 ergänzte man die beiden vorhandenen Coffey Stills (auch Column- oder Patent Stills genannt) um zwei weitere. 
1965 errichtete man auf dem Invergordon-Gelände die Malt Brennerei Ben Wyvis. Sie wurde jedoch nur 12 Jahre später schon wieder geschlossen. 1978 installierte man eine weitere, noch größere Column Still. Damit war Invergordon von der Produktionskapazität her eine der größten Destillerien in Europa. 
1993 wurde Invergordon von Whyte & Mackay übernommen, die ihrerseits heute zum philippinischen Emperador-Konzern gehören.


Was habe ich da eigentlich im Glas?

Der Invergordon Grain scheint direkt aus der Weihnachtsbäckerei zu kommen. Es duftet und schmeckt nach Vanille, Karamell, Nuss, kandierten Früchten und Gewürzen. Alles eingebunden in einer etwas leichteren, feineren Körper als ihn die Malt-Cousins haben. Ein Fest für alle Keks- und Whisky-Fans.


3 Gründe, Invergordon zu lieben

1) Weil dieser interessante Grain sich vor nichts und niemanden verstecken muss.
2) Weil es ohne Invergordon keinen Ben Wyvis gegeben hätte.
3) Weil den Highlands ohne Grain Destillerie etwas fehlen würde.


Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Der 21 Jahre alte Vintage 1993 aus der Clan Denny-Serie von Douglas Hamilton ist ein Gedicht von einem Grain.  Eine Einzelfassabfüllung mit kraftvollen 51,1%vol. und einer überbordenden Fülle von Aromen und Geschmackseindrücken: Da treffen Toffee und Karamel auf Gewürze und Zitrusfrüchte und die Vanille flirtet mit der Kokosnuss!


Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: Cottage Brae, Invergordon, Ross & Cromarty, IV18 0HP
Gegründet: 1959 von Invergordon Distillers
Status: aktiv
Besitzer: Whyte & Mackay (Emperador Inc.)
Kapazität: ca. 36.000.000 Liter
4 Coffey stills
Wasser: Loch Glass
Visitor Centre: -
Telefon: +44 (0)1349 - 852451
Website:  -

Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Zuletzt angesehen