window.ga=window.ga||function(){(ga.q=ga.q||[]).push(arguments)};ga.l=+new Date; ga('create', 'UA-43850283-1', 'auto'); ga('require', 'GTM-KCDD7PG'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('require', 'displayfeatures'); ga('require', 'cleanUrlTracker'); ga('require', 'outboundLinkTracker'); ga('require', 'ec'); ga('send', 'pageview'); ga('set', 'nonInteraction', true); setTimeout("ga('send', 'event', 'read', '20 seconds')", 20000);

Convalmore

Translation: Great Conval (proper name)
Region: Speyside


Why the world's most successful malt is a bit Convalmore.

Everyone knows Glenfiddich. Hardly anyone knows Convalmore. Although the two distilleries have something in common. The Convalmore distillery was built in 1894 in the immediate vicinity of Glenfiddich in the town of Dufftown. Unfortunately, she was less fortunate and successful than her popular neighbor. Change of ownership, destruction by fire, experiments with coffey stills, which are usually used in Grain distilleries: it just did not really get calm at Convalmore. In 1985, the distillery was shut down and not reopened. But: William Grant & Sons have used the buildings since 1990 to store their Glenfiddich. So at least part of Convalmore lives on.


A little history

Convalmore was founded in 1893 by a group of Glasgow business people. WP Lowrie & Co Ltd. acquired the distillery in 1904, but in turn were two years later by James Buchanan & Co Ltd. accepted. In 1909 a fire destroyed large parts of the distillery. In the course of reconstruction 1910 also a Coffey was installed still, which one removed however already 1915 again. In 1925, Convalmore was acquired by Distillers Company Ltd. (DCL), the license went in 1930 to their daughter Scottish Malt Distillers (SMD).
Since 1985, the distillery has been shut down, the plants were dismantled. United Destillers (UD), successor to DCL, sold the buildings in 1990 to William Grant & Sons, who used them as warehouses for Glenfiddich.


What do I actually have in the glass?

Convalmore produced a very complex, multi-layered malt that is syrupy, fruity and voluminous. An excellent digestive.


3 reasons to love Convalmore

1) Because this great malt was unfairly blooming in secret.
2) Because some Glendfiddich barrels would otherwise have no home.
3) Because this distillery is a secret, as it is in the book.


The one drama for the lonely island

The 36-year-old limited original bottling from 1977/2013 is one of the last ways to get to know the outstanding quality of this largely unknown malt. Unfortunately, it is accordingly high priced. But those who can and want to afford it will be rewarded with a firework of aromas and taste sensations: unusually soft, warming with a sweetness that is very well balanced, with hints of pepper, salt and smoke.


numbers and facts

Address: Dufftown, Banffshire AB55 4DH
Founded: 1894 by Convalmore-Glenlivet Distillery Co. Ltd.
Status: dismantled
Owner: William Grant & Sons (building) and Diageo (trademark)
Capacity: (formerly)
2 wash stills
2 spirit stills
Water: (formerly) sources in the Conval Hills
Visitor Center: -
Telephone: -
Website: -

Translation: Great Conval (proper name) Region: Speyside Why the world's most successful malt is a bit Convalmore. Everyone knows Glenfiddich. Hardly anyone knows Convalmore.... read more »
Close window
Convalmore

Translation: Great Conval (proper name)
Region: Speyside


Why the world's most successful malt is a bit Convalmore.

Everyone knows Glenfiddich. Hardly anyone knows Convalmore. Although the two distilleries have something in common. The Convalmore distillery was built in 1894 in the immediate vicinity of Glenfiddich in the town of Dufftown. Unfortunately, she was less fortunate and successful than her popular neighbor. Change of ownership, destruction by fire, experiments with coffey stills, which are usually used in Grain distilleries: it just did not really get calm at Convalmore. In 1985, the distillery was shut down and not reopened. But: William Grant & Sons have used the buildings since 1990 to store their Glenfiddich. So at least part of Convalmore lives on.


A little history

Convalmore was founded in 1893 by a group of Glasgow business people. WP Lowrie & Co Ltd. acquired the distillery in 1904, but in turn were two years later by James Buchanan & Co Ltd. accepted. In 1909 a fire destroyed large parts of the distillery. In the course of reconstruction 1910 also a Coffey was installed still, which one removed however already 1915 again. In 1925, Convalmore was acquired by Distillers Company Ltd. (DCL), the license went in 1930 to their daughter Scottish Malt Distillers (SMD).
Since 1985, the distillery has been shut down, the plants were dismantled. United Destillers (UD), successor to DCL, sold the buildings in 1990 to William Grant & Sons, who used them as warehouses for Glenfiddich.


What do I actually have in the glass?

Convalmore produced a very complex, multi-layered malt that is syrupy, fruity and voluminous. An excellent digestive.


3 reasons to love Convalmore

1) Because this great malt was unfairly blooming in secret.
2) Because some Glendfiddich barrels would otherwise have no home.
3) Because this distillery is a secret, as it is in the book.


The one drama for the lonely island

The 36-year-old limited original bottling from 1977/2013 is one of the last ways to get to know the outstanding quality of this largely unknown malt. Unfortunately, it is accordingly high priced. But those who can and want to afford it will be rewarded with a firework of aromas and taste sensations: unusually soft, warming with a sweetness that is very well balanced, with hints of pepper, salt and smoke.


numbers and facts

Address: Dufftown, Banffshire AB55 4DH
Founded: 1894 by Convalmore-Glenlivet Distillery Co. Ltd.
Status: dismantled
Owner: William Grant & Sons (building) and Diageo (trademark)
Capacity: (formerly)
2 wash stills
2 spirit stills
Water: (formerly) sources in the Conval Hills
Visitor Center: -
Telephone: -
Website: -

No results were found for the filter!
Viewed

window.ga=window.ga||function(){(ga.q=ga.q||[]).push(arguments)};ga.l=+new Date; ga('create', 'UA-43850283-1', 'auto'); ga('require', 'GTM-KCDD7PG'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('require', 'displayfeatures'); ga('require', 'cleanUrlTracker'); ga('require', 'outboundLinkTracker'); ga('require', 'ec'); ga('send', 'pageview'); ga('set', 'nonInteraction', true); setTimeout("ga('send', 'event', 'read', '20 seconds')", 20000);

Convalmore

Übersetzung: Groß-Conval (Eigenname)
Region: Speyside


Warum der erfolgreichste Malt der Welt ein bisschen Convalmore ist.

Glenfiddich kennt jeder. Convalmore kennt kaum jemand. Obwohl die beiden Destillerien einiges gemeinsam haben. Die Convalmore Destillerie wurde 1894 in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft von Glenfiddich in dem Städtchen Dufftown errichtet. Leider war ihr weniger Glück und Erfolg beschieden als dem populären Nachbarn. Besitzerwechsel, Zerstörungen durch Feuer, Experimente mit Coffey Stills, die normalerweise in Grain-Destillerien eingesetzt werden: Es kehrte einfach nicht so recht Ruhe ein bei Convalmore. 1985 wurde die Brennerei stillgelegt und nicht wieder eröffnet. Aber: William Grant & Sons nutzen die Gebäude seit 1990 für die Lagerung ihres Glenfiddich. So lebt zumindest ein Teil von Convalmore noch weiter.


Ein bisschen Geschichte

Convalmore wurde 1893 von einer Gruppe Glasgower Geschäftsleute gegründet. W. P. Lowrie & Co Ltd. erwarben die Brennerei 1904, wurden ihrerseits aber schon zwei Jahre später von James Buchanan & Co Ltd. übernommen. 1909 zerstörte ein Brand große Teile der Destillerie. Im Zuge des  Wiederaufbaus wurde 1910 auch eine Coffey still installiert, die man allerdings schon 1915 wieder entfernte. 1925 wurde Convalmore von der Distillers Company Ltd. (DCL) übernommen, die Lizenz ging 1930 an deren Tochter Scottish Malt Distillers (SMD).
Seit 1985 ist die Brennerei stillgelegt, die Anlagen wurden demontiert. United Destillers (UD), Nachfolger von DCL, verkaufte die Gebäude 1990 an William Grant & Sons die sie als Lagerhäuser für Glenfiddich benutzen.


Was habe ich da eigentlich im Glas?

Convalmore produzierte einen sehr komplexen, vielschichtigen Malt, der sirupartig, fruchtig und voluminös ist. Ein hervorragender Digestif.


3 Gründe, Convalmore zu lieben

1) Weil dieser großartige Malt völlig zu Unrecht so im Verborgenen blühte.
2) Weil einige Glendfiddich-Fässer sonst kein Zuhause hätten.
3) Weil diese Destillerie  ein Geheimtipp ist, wie er im Buche steht.


Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Die 36 Jahre alte limitierte Originalabfüllung von 1977/2013 ist eine der letzten Möglichkeiten, die herausragende Qualität dieses weitgehend unbekannten Malts kennenzulernen. Leider ist sie auch dementsprechend hochpreisig. Wer es sich aber leisten kann und will, wird mit einem Feuerwerk von Aromen und Geschmackserlebnisse belohnt: Ungewöhnlich weich, wärmend mit einer Süße, die sehr schön ausgewogen ist, dazu Noten von Pfeffer, Salz und Rauch.


Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: Dufftown, Banffshire AB55 4DH
Gegründet: 1894 von der Convalmore-Glenlivet Distillery Co. Ltd.
Status: demontiert
Besitzer: William Grant & Sons (Gebäude) bzw. Diageo (Markenrechte)
Kapazität: (ehemals)
2 Wash stills
2 Spirit stills
Wasser: (ehemals) Quellen in den Conval Hills
Visitor Centre: -
Telefon: -
Website:  -

Übersetzung: Groß-Conval (Eigenname) Region: Speyside Warum der erfolgreichste Malt der Welt ein bisschen Convalmore ist. Glenfiddich kennt jeder. Convalmore kennt kaum jemand. Obwohl die... mehr erfahren »
Fenster schließen
Convalmore

Übersetzung: Groß-Conval (Eigenname)
Region: Speyside


Warum der erfolgreichste Malt der Welt ein bisschen Convalmore ist.

Glenfiddich kennt jeder. Convalmore kennt kaum jemand. Obwohl die beiden Destillerien einiges gemeinsam haben. Die Convalmore Destillerie wurde 1894 in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft von Glenfiddich in dem Städtchen Dufftown errichtet. Leider war ihr weniger Glück und Erfolg beschieden als dem populären Nachbarn. Besitzerwechsel, Zerstörungen durch Feuer, Experimente mit Coffey Stills, die normalerweise in Grain-Destillerien eingesetzt werden: Es kehrte einfach nicht so recht Ruhe ein bei Convalmore. 1985 wurde die Brennerei stillgelegt und nicht wieder eröffnet. Aber: William Grant & Sons nutzen die Gebäude seit 1990 für die Lagerung ihres Glenfiddich. So lebt zumindest ein Teil von Convalmore noch weiter.


Ein bisschen Geschichte

Convalmore wurde 1893 von einer Gruppe Glasgower Geschäftsleute gegründet. W. P. Lowrie & Co Ltd. erwarben die Brennerei 1904, wurden ihrerseits aber schon zwei Jahre später von James Buchanan & Co Ltd. übernommen. 1909 zerstörte ein Brand große Teile der Destillerie. Im Zuge des  Wiederaufbaus wurde 1910 auch eine Coffey still installiert, die man allerdings schon 1915 wieder entfernte. 1925 wurde Convalmore von der Distillers Company Ltd. (DCL) übernommen, die Lizenz ging 1930 an deren Tochter Scottish Malt Distillers (SMD).
Seit 1985 ist die Brennerei stillgelegt, die Anlagen wurden demontiert. United Destillers (UD), Nachfolger von DCL, verkaufte die Gebäude 1990 an William Grant & Sons die sie als Lagerhäuser für Glenfiddich benutzen.


Was habe ich da eigentlich im Glas?

Convalmore produzierte einen sehr komplexen, vielschichtigen Malt, der sirupartig, fruchtig und voluminös ist. Ein hervorragender Digestif.


3 Gründe, Convalmore zu lieben

1) Weil dieser großartige Malt völlig zu Unrecht so im Verborgenen blühte.
2) Weil einige Glendfiddich-Fässer sonst kein Zuhause hätten.
3) Weil diese Destillerie  ein Geheimtipp ist, wie er im Buche steht.


Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Die 36 Jahre alte limitierte Originalabfüllung von 1977/2013 ist eine der letzten Möglichkeiten, die herausragende Qualität dieses weitgehend unbekannten Malts kennenzulernen. Leider ist sie auch dementsprechend hochpreisig. Wer es sich aber leisten kann und will, wird mit einem Feuerwerk von Aromen und Geschmackserlebnisse belohnt: Ungewöhnlich weich, wärmend mit einer Süße, die sehr schön ausgewogen ist, dazu Noten von Pfeffer, Salz und Rauch.


Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: Dufftown, Banffshire AB55 4DH
Gegründet: 1894 von der Convalmore-Glenlivet Distillery Co. Ltd.
Status: demontiert
Besitzer: William Grant & Sons (Gebäude) bzw. Diageo (Markenrechte)
Kapazität: (ehemals)
2 Wash stills
2 Spirit stills
Wasser: (ehemals) Quellen in den Conval Hills
Visitor Centre: -
Telefon: -
Website:  -

Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Zuletzt angesehen