window.ga=window.ga||function(){(ga.q=ga.q||[]).push(arguments)};ga.l=+new Date; ga('create', 'UA-43850283-1', 'auto'); ga('require', 'GTM-KCDD7PG'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('require', 'displayfeatures'); ga('require', 'cleanUrlTracker'); ga('require', 'outboundLinkTracker'); ga('require', 'ec'); ga('send', 'pageview'); ga('set', 'nonInteraction', true); setTimeout("ga('send', 'event', 'read', '20 seconds')", 20000);

Cooley

Translation: - (proper name)
Region: Ireland, County Louth

He probably just could not stand it anymore, John Teeling.

Ireland claims to be the motherland of whiskey. St. Columban is said to have established the art of burning here many centuries ago. And no doubt, whiskey played and plays a major role in the history of Ireland, in its songs, poetry and legends.
In fact, in 1987, there were only two producing Whiskey distilleries in Ireland: Bushmills (in the North) and Midleton (in the South County Cork). And both belonged to a French owner: Pernod Ricard. However, the proud history of Irish whiskey could not end this way, said the Irishman John Teeling - and founded the Cooley Distillery. An Irish success story.

A little history

In 1987, John Teeling bought a former state distillery in Dundalk on the east coast of Ireland. Within two years, it created the new Cooley Distillery (named after the peninsula it is located on), where both Grain- and Malt Whiskey can be produced. On Easter Sunday 1989 the first spirit ran into the barrels here.
Back in 1988, John Teeling's college buddy Willie McCarter joined the company, bringing with him the old Andrew A. Watt Distillery and the "Tyrconnell" brand rights. Cooley also acquired the decommissioned Locke's Kilbeggan Distillery and the rights to the John Locke's brand. The old distillery in Kilbeggan was used for a long time to store the Cooley whiskeys. Since 2007, here again produced.
In 1996, the very successful peat-flavored Connemara Single Malt came on the market. In 1998, Cooley received the International Wine and Spirit Competition (IWSC) trophy for outstanding service to Irish whiskey. In December 2011, Cooley Distillery plc went to Jim Beam. In 2014, Beam Inc. was acquired by the Japanese beverage giant Suntory and has since been trading under Beam Suntory.

What are they doing?

From Cooley comes a whole series of different whiskeys: The Malts Connemara, Tyrconnell and Locke's. The Greenore Single Grain. And the blends Kilbeggan, Millar's, Dundalgan and Locke's Premium Blend.

3 reasons to love Cooley

1) Because here began a new era of Irish malt whiskey.
2) Because Connemara tastes so interesting Irish-Scottish.
3) Because Locke's, Grennore and many other whiskey beads would not exist without Cooley.

The one drama for the lonely island

Although it is a bit strange to recommend a whiskey for an Irish distillery, which is unusually "un-Irish", but: The Connemara is a particularly rewarding discovery. An Irish whiskey that is spewed and only distilled twice - like the Scottish cousins. The typical Irish fruitiness and sweetness are combined with the smoky, powerful notes of Scottish malts. Exciting.

numbers and facts

Address: Riverstown, Cooley, County Louth
Founded: 1987 by John Teeling
Status: active
Owner: Beam Suntory
Capacity: approx. 3,300,000 liters
1 wash still (16,000 l)
1 Spirit still (16,000 l)
2 column stills
Water: Slievenaglough Springs
Visitor Center: yes, in Kilbeggan
Telephone: +353 (0) 42 9376102
Website: www.cooleywhiskey.com

Translation: - (proper name) Region: Ireland, County Louth He probably just could not stand it anymore, John Teeling. Ireland claims to be the motherland of whiskey. St. Columban is... read more »
Close window
Cooley

Translation: - (proper name)
Region: Ireland, County Louth

He probably just could not stand it anymore, John Teeling.

Ireland claims to be the motherland of whiskey. St. Columban is said to have established the art of burning here many centuries ago. And no doubt, whiskey played and plays a major role in the history of Ireland, in its songs, poetry and legends.
In fact, in 1987, there were only two producing Whiskey distilleries in Ireland: Bushmills (in the North) and Midleton (in the South County Cork). And both belonged to a French owner: Pernod Ricard. However, the proud history of Irish whiskey could not end this way, said the Irishman John Teeling - and founded the Cooley Distillery. An Irish success story.

A little history

In 1987, John Teeling bought a former state distillery in Dundalk on the east coast of Ireland. Within two years, it created the new Cooley Distillery (named after the peninsula it is located on), where both Grain- and Malt Whiskey can be produced. On Easter Sunday 1989 the first spirit ran into the barrels here.
Back in 1988, John Teeling's college buddy Willie McCarter joined the company, bringing with him the old Andrew A. Watt Distillery and the "Tyrconnell" brand rights. Cooley also acquired the decommissioned Locke's Kilbeggan Distillery and the rights to the John Locke's brand. The old distillery in Kilbeggan was used for a long time to store the Cooley whiskeys. Since 2007, here again produced.
In 1996, the very successful peat-flavored Connemara Single Malt came on the market. In 1998, Cooley received the International Wine and Spirit Competition (IWSC) trophy for outstanding service to Irish whiskey. In December 2011, Cooley Distillery plc went to Jim Beam. In 2014, Beam Inc. was acquired by the Japanese beverage giant Suntory and has since been trading under Beam Suntory.

What are they doing?

From Cooley comes a whole series of different whiskeys: The Malts Connemara, Tyrconnell and Locke's. The Greenore Single Grain. And the blends Kilbeggan, Millar's, Dundalgan and Locke's Premium Blend.

3 reasons to love Cooley

1) Because here began a new era of Irish malt whiskey.
2) Because Connemara tastes so interesting Irish-Scottish.
3) Because Locke's, Grennore and many other whiskey beads would not exist without Cooley.

The one drama for the lonely island

Although it is a bit strange to recommend a whiskey for an Irish distillery, which is unusually "un-Irish", but: The Connemara is a particularly rewarding discovery. An Irish whiskey that is spewed and only distilled twice - like the Scottish cousins. The typical Irish fruitiness and sweetness are combined with the smoky, powerful notes of Scottish malts. Exciting.

numbers and facts

Address: Riverstown, Cooley, County Louth
Founded: 1987 by John Teeling
Status: active
Owner: Beam Suntory
Capacity: approx. 3,300,000 liters
1 wash still (16,000 l)
1 Spirit still (16,000 l)
2 column stills
Water: Slievenaglough Springs
Visitor Center: yes, in Kilbeggan
Telephone: +353 (0) 42 9376102
Website: www.cooleywhiskey.com

Top seller
Kilbeggan Triple Cask 43%vol. 0,7l Kilbeggan Triple Cask 43%vol. 0,7l
€20.99 * €23.99 * UVP
(€29.99* pro 1,0l)
Content: 0.7l
contains Colour
The Tyrconnell 10 Jahre Madeira Casks Finish 46%vol. 0,7l The Tyrconnell 10 Year Old Madeira Casks Finish...
€43.19 * €50.99 * UVP
(€61.70* pro 1,0l)
Content: 0.7l
Natural colour
Hyde No. 3 The Aras Cask Single Grain 46%vol. 0,7l Hyde No. 3 The Aras Cask Single Grain 46% vol....
€27.49 * €31.99 * UVP
(€39.27* pro 1,0l)
Content: 0.7l
Natural colour
The Tyrconnell 10 Jahre Port Finish 46%vol. 0,7l The Tyrconnell 10 Year Old Port Finish 46% vol....
€42.87 * €50.99 * UVP
(€61.24* pro 1,0l)
Content: 0.7l
Natural colour
Connemara 12 Jahre Peated 40%vol. 0,7l Connemara 12 Year Old Peated 40% vol. 0,7l
€46.80 * €54.99 * UVP
(€66.86* pro 1,0l)
Content: 0.7l
contains Colour
Close filters
 
  •  
  •  
from to
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
No results were found for the filter!
Kilbeggan Triple Cask 43%vol. 0,7l
Kilbeggan Triple Cask 43%vol. 0,7l
€23.99 * UVP €20.99 *
(€29.99* pro 1,0l)
Content: 0.7l
contains Colour
The Tyrconnell 10 Jahre Madeira Casks Finish 46%vol. 0,7l
The Tyrconnell 10 Year Old Madeira Casks Finish...
€50.99 * UVP €43.19 *
(€61.70* pro 1,0l)
Content: 0.7l
Natural colour
Hyde No. 3 The Aras Cask Single Grain 46%vol. 0,7l
Hyde No. 3 The Aras Cask Single Grain 46% vol....
€31.99 * UVP €27.49 *
(€39.27* pro 1,0l)
Content: 0.7l
Natural colour
The Tyrconnell 10 Jahre Port Finish 46%vol. 0,7l
The Tyrconnell 10 Year Old Port Finish 46% vol....
€50.99 * UVP €42.87 *
(€61.24* pro 1,0l)
Content: 0.7l
Natural colour
Connemara 12 Jahre Peated 40%vol. 0,7l
Connemara 12 Year Old Peated 40% vol. 0,7l
€54.99 * UVP €46.80 *
(€66.86* pro 1,0l)
Content: 0.7l
contains Colour
Viewed

AM 19. MAI IST WELT-WHISKY-TAG! 
SPARE MIT UNSEREN RABATTCODES - €10 AB €175 MIT CODE WELT-WHISKY-TAG2024-10 UND €25 AB €400 MIT CODE WELT-WHISKY-TAG2024-25 - GÜLTIG BIS 20. MAI 2024!

Cooley

Übersetzung: - (Eigenname)
Region: Irland, County Louth

 

Wahrscheinlich hat er es einfach nicht mehr ausgehalten, der John Teeling.

Irland nimmt für sich in Anspruch, das Mutterland des Whiskeys zu sein. Der heilige St. Columban soll hier vor vielen Jahrhunderten die Brennkunst etabliert haben. Und zweifellos spielte und spielt Whiskey eine tragende Rolle in der Geschichte Irlands, in seinen Liedern, Gedichten und Legenden.
Tatsache ist aber auch: 1987 gab es in ganz Irland nur noch zwei produzierende Whiskey Destillerien: Bushmills (im Norden) und Midleton (im südlichen County Cork). Und beide gehörten einem französischen Eigentümer: Pernod Ricard. So aber konnte doch die stolze Geschichte des irischen Whiskeys nicht zu Ende gehen, sagte sich der Ire John Teeling – und gründete die Cooley Distillery.  Eine irische Erfolgsgeschichte. 

 

Ein bisschen Geschichte

1987 kaufte John Teeling eine ehemalige staatliche Schnapsbrennerei in Dundalk an der irischen Ostküste. Innerhalb von zwei Jahren entstand daraus die neue Cooley Distillery (benannt nach der Halbinsel, auf der sie liegt), in der sowohl Grain- als auch Malt Whiskey produziert werden kann. Am Ostersonntag 1989 lief hier der erste Spirit in die Fässer.
Schon 1988 schloss sich John Teelings Studienfreund Willie McCarter dem Unternehmen an und brachte die alte Andrew A. Watt Distillery sowie die „Tyrconnell“-Markenrechte mit ein. Cooley erwarb außerdem die stillgelegte Locke’s Kilbeggan Distillery und die Rechte an der Marke John Locke’s. Die alte Brennerei in Kilbeggan nutzte man lange zur Lagerung der Cooley-Whiskeys. Seit 2007 wird hier auch wieder produziert. 
1996 kam der sehr erfolgreiche getorfte Connemara Single Malt auf den Markt. 1998 erhielt Cooley die Trophäe der International Wine and Spirit Competition (IWSC) für außerordentliche Verdienste um den irischen Whiskey. Im Dezember 2011 ging die Cooley Distillery plc an Jim Beam. 2014 wurde Beam Inc. vom  japanischen Getränkeriesen Suntory gekauft und firmiert seitdem unter Beam Suntory.

 

Was machen die da?

Aus dem Hause Cooley kommt eine ganze Reihe verschiedener Whiskeys: Die Malts Connemara, Tyrconnell und Locke’s. Der Greenore Single Grain. Und die Blends Kilbeggan, Millar’s, Dundalgan und Locke’s Premium Blend.

 

3 Gründe, Cooley zu lieben

1) Weil hier ein neues Zeitalter des irischen Malt Whiskeys begann.
2) Weil der Connemara so interessant irisch-schottisch schmeckt.
3) Weil es Locke’s, Grennore und viele weitere Whiskeyperlen nicht gäbe ohne Cooley.

 

Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Auch wenn es etwas merkwürdig ist, für eine irische Destillerie einen Whiskey zu empfehlen, der  ungewöhnlich „un-irisch“ daher kommt, aber: Der Connemara ist ein besonders lohnende Entdeckung. Ein irischer Whiskey, der getorft ist und nur zweifach destilliert wird – wie die schottischen Cousins. So verbindet sich die typisch irische Fruchtigkeit und Süße mit den rauchigen, kraftvollen Noten der schottischen Malts. Spannend.

 

Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: Riverstown, Cooley, County Louth
Gegründet: 1987 von John Teeling
Status: aktiv
Besitzer: Beam Suntory
Kapazität: ca. 3.300.000 Liter
1 Wash still (16.000 l)
1 Spirit still (16.000 l)
2 Column stills
Wasser: Slievenaglough Springs
Visitor Centre: ja, in Kilbeggan
Telefon: +353 (0)42 9376102
Website:  www.cooleywhiskey.com

Übersetzung: - (Eigenname) Region: Irland, County Louth   Wahrscheinlich hat er es einfach nicht mehr ausgehalten, der John Teeling. Irland nimmt für sich in Anspruch, das... mehr erfahren »
Fenster schließen
Cooley

Übersetzung: - (Eigenname)
Region: Irland, County Louth

 

Wahrscheinlich hat er es einfach nicht mehr ausgehalten, der John Teeling.

Irland nimmt für sich in Anspruch, das Mutterland des Whiskeys zu sein. Der heilige St. Columban soll hier vor vielen Jahrhunderten die Brennkunst etabliert haben. Und zweifellos spielte und spielt Whiskey eine tragende Rolle in der Geschichte Irlands, in seinen Liedern, Gedichten und Legenden.
Tatsache ist aber auch: 1987 gab es in ganz Irland nur noch zwei produzierende Whiskey Destillerien: Bushmills (im Norden) und Midleton (im südlichen County Cork). Und beide gehörten einem französischen Eigentümer: Pernod Ricard. So aber konnte doch die stolze Geschichte des irischen Whiskeys nicht zu Ende gehen, sagte sich der Ire John Teeling – und gründete die Cooley Distillery.  Eine irische Erfolgsgeschichte. 

 

Ein bisschen Geschichte

1987 kaufte John Teeling eine ehemalige staatliche Schnapsbrennerei in Dundalk an der irischen Ostküste. Innerhalb von zwei Jahren entstand daraus die neue Cooley Distillery (benannt nach der Halbinsel, auf der sie liegt), in der sowohl Grain- als auch Malt Whiskey produziert werden kann. Am Ostersonntag 1989 lief hier der erste Spirit in die Fässer.
Schon 1988 schloss sich John Teelings Studienfreund Willie McCarter dem Unternehmen an und brachte die alte Andrew A. Watt Distillery sowie die „Tyrconnell“-Markenrechte mit ein. Cooley erwarb außerdem die stillgelegte Locke’s Kilbeggan Distillery und die Rechte an der Marke John Locke’s. Die alte Brennerei in Kilbeggan nutzte man lange zur Lagerung der Cooley-Whiskeys. Seit 2007 wird hier auch wieder produziert. 
1996 kam der sehr erfolgreiche getorfte Connemara Single Malt auf den Markt. 1998 erhielt Cooley die Trophäe der International Wine and Spirit Competition (IWSC) für außerordentliche Verdienste um den irischen Whiskey. Im Dezember 2011 ging die Cooley Distillery plc an Jim Beam. 2014 wurde Beam Inc. vom  japanischen Getränkeriesen Suntory gekauft und firmiert seitdem unter Beam Suntory.

 

Was machen die da?

Aus dem Hause Cooley kommt eine ganze Reihe verschiedener Whiskeys: Die Malts Connemara, Tyrconnell und Locke’s. Der Greenore Single Grain. Und die Blends Kilbeggan, Millar’s, Dundalgan und Locke’s Premium Blend.

 

3 Gründe, Cooley zu lieben

1) Weil hier ein neues Zeitalter des irischen Malt Whiskeys begann.
2) Weil der Connemara so interessant irisch-schottisch schmeckt.
3) Weil es Locke’s, Grennore und viele weitere Whiskeyperlen nicht gäbe ohne Cooley.

 

Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Auch wenn es etwas merkwürdig ist, für eine irische Destillerie einen Whiskey zu empfehlen, der  ungewöhnlich „un-irisch“ daher kommt, aber: Der Connemara ist ein besonders lohnende Entdeckung. Ein irischer Whiskey, der getorft ist und nur zweifach destilliert wird – wie die schottischen Cousins. So verbindet sich die typisch irische Fruchtigkeit und Süße mit den rauchigen, kraftvollen Noten der schottischen Malts. Spannend.

 

Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: Riverstown, Cooley, County Louth
Gegründet: 1987 von John Teeling
Status: aktiv
Besitzer: Beam Suntory
Kapazität: ca. 3.300.000 Liter
1 Wash still (16.000 l)
1 Spirit still (16.000 l)
2 Column stills
Wasser: Slievenaglough Springs
Visitor Centre: ja, in Kilbeggan
Telefon: +353 (0)42 9376102
Website:  www.cooleywhiskey.com

Topseller
Kilbeggan.jpg Kilbeggan 40%vol. 0,7l
13,49 € *
(19,27 €* pro 1,0l)
Inhalt: 0.7l
Mit Farbstoff
DSC_01747Y88zsBQrRcYr.jpg Kilbeggan Triple Cask 43%vol. 0,7l
22,49 € * 23,99 € * UVP
(32,13 €* pro 1,0l)
Inhalt: 0.7l
Mit Farbstoff
DSC_0424siYYNl4gfObCD.jpg The Tyrconnell 10 Jahre Madeira Casks Finish...
46,99 € * 50,99 € * UVP
(67,13 €* pro 1,0l)
Inhalt: 0.7l
Ohne Farbstoff
DSC_0422SAmJoEC3PyHWD.jpg The Tyrconnell 10 Jahre Port Finish 46%vol. 0,7l
46,99 € * 50,99 € * UVP
(67,13 €* pro 1,0l)
Inhalt: 0.7l
Ohne Farbstoff
15785-Bild1.jpg Connemara Peated mit Glas
25,99 € *
(37,13 €* pro 1,0l)
Inhalt: 0.7l
Mit Farbstoff
DSC_0531.jpg Connemara Distillers Edition 43%vol. 0,7l
34,49 € *
(49,27 €* pro 1,0l)
Inhalt: 0.7l
Mit Farbstoff
Filter schließen
 
  •  
von bis
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Kilbeggan.jpg
Kilbeggan 40%vol. 0,7l
13,49 € *
(19,27 €* pro 1,0l)
Inhalt: 0.7l
Mit Farbstoff
DSC_01747Y88zsBQrRcYr.jpg
Kilbeggan Triple Cask 43%vol. 0,7l
23,99 € * UVP 22,49 € *
(32,13 €* pro 1,0l)
Inhalt: 0.7l
Mit Farbstoff
DSC_0424siYYNl4gfObCD.jpg
The Tyrconnell 10 Jahre Madeira Casks Finish...
50,99 € * UVP 46,99 € *
(67,13 €* pro 1,0l)
Inhalt: 0.7l
Ohne Farbstoff
DSC_0422SAmJoEC3PyHWD.jpg
The Tyrconnell 10 Jahre Port Finish 46%vol. 0,7l
50,99 € * UVP 46,99 € *
(67,13 €* pro 1,0l)
Inhalt: 0.7l
Ohne Farbstoff
15785-Bild1.jpg
Connemara Peated mit Glas
25,99 € *
(37,13 €* pro 1,0l)
Inhalt: 0.7l
Mit Farbstoff
DSC_0531.jpg
Connemara Distillers Edition 43%vol. 0,7l
34,49 € *
(49,27 €* pro 1,0l)
Inhalt: 0.7l
Mit Farbstoff
Zuletzt angesehen