window.ga=window.ga||function(){(ga.q=ga.q||[]).push(arguments)};ga.l=+new Date; ga('create', 'UA-43850283-1', 'auto'); ga('require', 'GTM-KCDD7PG'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('require', 'displayfeatures'); ga('require', 'cleanUrlTracker'); ga('require', 'outboundLinkTracker'); ga('require', 'ec'); ga('send', 'pageview'); ga('set', 'nonInteraction', true); setTimeout("ga('send', 'event', 'read', '20 seconds')", 20000);

Glen Ord

Translation: Valley of the Round Hill

Region: (Northern) Highlands

Where the malt comes from.

One thing in advance: The single malt by Glen Ord is worthy of all honor. Even better known than for her whiskey is the distillery for her malt. Malting barley is a very time-consuming and lengthy procedure. The few distilleries therefore have their own maltings to produce the required barley malt itself. Since 1968, Glen Ord has had a large drum malting machine ("Drum Maltings"), whose meanwhile 18 malting drums produce 37,000 tons of barley malt a year. Most distilleries in the northern and northeastern Highlands source their malt from here. So a little Glen Ord is in more whiskey than you think.

A little history

The distillery was founded in 1838 as Ord Distillery by Thomas Mackenzie, who gave the license to Robert Johnstone and Donald McLennan. Over the next decades, there were numerous owners, including the son of McLennan, later his widow and her second husband. In 1896, the distillery went to James Watson & Son, who renovated it and enlarged the malt floors. From 1917 to 1919 Glen Ord was shut down. In 1923 the distillery was sold to Thomas Dewar, two years later she came to Distillers Company Limited (DCL). During the Second World War, Glen Ord remained closed like so many distilleries.
From 1958 to 1966 Glen Ord made tests on different types of fuel burning (coal, oil or steam). In 1958, two of the four stills were switched to direct oil firing, and the remaining pot stills were traditionally heated with coal. In 1960, the oil-fired stills were converted to steam. In 1961 they closed the floor painting and installed instead modern basemaking ("Saladin boxes"). In 1966, the number of stills was increased to six and the firing was completely converted to steam.
In 1968, a modern, large drum malting ("Drum Maltings") was built on the grounds of the distillery, which supplies many Scottish distilleries with barley malt, including Talisker or Clynelish. In 1985, United Distillers (UD) took over the distillery, which now belongs to Diageo.

The single malt of Glen Ord was temporarily sold as Ord, Ordie, Glenordie or Glen Oran.

What do I actually have in the glass?

The Glen Ord has a fairly full, voluptuous body with pronounced sweetness and a long finish. Spices, chocolate and nutty flavors are also found here, as well as sometimes smoky hints.

3 reasons to love Glen Ord

1) Because there is no malt without malt.

2) Because the whiskey of Glen Ord deserves recognition.

3) Because the Visitor Center is one of the most worth seeing.

The one drama for the lonely island

The 21-year-old "Director's Cut" 1992/2013 from the refill Sherry Butt by Douglas Laing is a lush and spicy feast for the senses.

numbers and facts

Address: Muir of Ord, Ross-shire IV6 7UJ

Founded in 1838 by Robert Johnstone and Donald McLennan

Status: active

Owner: Diageo

Capacity: about 5,000,000 liters

3 wash stills (18,000 l)

3 spirit stills (15,500 l)

Water: Loch nam Bonnach, Loch nan Euan

Visitor Center: yes

Telephone: +44 (0) 1463 - 872004

Website: www.malts.com

Translation: Valley of the Round Hill Region: (Northern) Highlands Where the malt comes from. One thing in advance: The single malt by Glen Ord is worthy of all honor. Even better... read more »
Close window
Glen Ord

Translation: Valley of the Round Hill

Region: (Northern) Highlands

Where the malt comes from.

One thing in advance: The single malt by Glen Ord is worthy of all honor. Even better known than for her whiskey is the distillery for her malt. Malting barley is a very time-consuming and lengthy procedure. The few distilleries therefore have their own maltings to produce the required barley malt itself. Since 1968, Glen Ord has had a large drum malting machine ("Drum Maltings"), whose meanwhile 18 malting drums produce 37,000 tons of barley malt a year. Most distilleries in the northern and northeastern Highlands source their malt from here. So a little Glen Ord is in more whiskey than you think.

A little history

The distillery was founded in 1838 as Ord Distillery by Thomas Mackenzie, who gave the license to Robert Johnstone and Donald McLennan. Over the next decades, there were numerous owners, including the son of McLennan, later his widow and her second husband. In 1896, the distillery went to James Watson & Son, who renovated it and enlarged the malt floors. From 1917 to 1919 Glen Ord was shut down. In 1923 the distillery was sold to Thomas Dewar, two years later she came to Distillers Company Limited (DCL). During the Second World War, Glen Ord remained closed like so many distilleries.
From 1958 to 1966 Glen Ord made tests on different types of fuel burning (coal, oil or steam). In 1958, two of the four stills were switched to direct oil firing, and the remaining pot stills were traditionally heated with coal. In 1960, the oil-fired stills were converted to steam. In 1961 they closed the floor painting and installed instead modern basemaking ("Saladin boxes"). In 1966, the number of stills was increased to six and the firing was completely converted to steam.
In 1968, a modern, large drum malting ("Drum Maltings") was built on the grounds of the distillery, which supplies many Scottish distilleries with barley malt, including Talisker or Clynelish. In 1985, United Distillers (UD) took over the distillery, which now belongs to Diageo.

The single malt of Glen Ord was temporarily sold as Ord, Ordie, Glenordie or Glen Oran.

What do I actually have in the glass?

The Glen Ord has a fairly full, voluptuous body with pronounced sweetness and a long finish. Spices, chocolate and nutty flavors are also found here, as well as sometimes smoky hints.

3 reasons to love Glen Ord

1) Because there is no malt without malt.

2) Because the whiskey of Glen Ord deserves recognition.

3) Because the Visitor Center is one of the most worth seeing.

The one drama for the lonely island

The 21-year-old "Director's Cut" 1992/2013 from the refill Sherry Butt by Douglas Laing is a lush and spicy feast for the senses.

numbers and facts

Address: Muir of Ord, Ross-shire IV6 7UJ

Founded in 1838 by Robert Johnstone and Donald McLennan

Status: active

Owner: Diageo

Capacity: about 5,000,000 liters

3 wash stills (18,000 l)

3 spirit stills (15,500 l)

Water: Loch nam Bonnach, Loch nan Euan

Visitor Center: yes

Telephone: +44 (0) 1463 - 872004

Website: www.malts.com

Top seller
The Singleton of Glen Ord 15 Jahre Special Release 2022 54,2%vol. 0,7l The Singleton of Glen Ord 15 Jahre Special...
€125.59 *
(€179.41* pro 1,0l)
Content: 0.7l
contains Colour
Close filters
 
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
No results were found for the filter!
The Singleton of Glen Ord 15 Jahre Special Release 2022 54,2%vol. 0,7l
The Singleton of Glen Ord 15 Jahre Special...
€125.59 *
(€179.41* pro 1,0l)
Content: 0.7l
contains Colour
Viewed

window.ga=window.ga||function(){(ga.q=ga.q||[]).push(arguments)};ga.l=+new Date; ga('create', 'UA-43850283-1', 'auto'); ga('require', 'GTM-KCDD7PG'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('require', 'displayfeatures'); ga('require', 'cleanUrlTracker'); ga('require', 'outboundLinkTracker'); ga('require', 'ec'); ga('send', 'pageview'); ga('set', 'nonInteraction', true); setTimeout("ga('send', 'event', 'read', '20 seconds')", 20000);

Glen Ord

Übersetzung: Tal des runden Hügels            

Region: (Nördliche) Highlands

 

Wo das Malz herkommt.

Eines vorweg: Der Single Malt von Glen Ord ist aller Ehren wert. Noch bekannter als für ihren Whisky ist die Destillerie allerdings für ihr Malz. Gerste zu mälzen ist eine äußerst aufwendige und langwierige Prozedur. Die wenigsten Destillerien haben daher noch eigene Maltings, um das benötigte Gerstenmalz selbst herzustellen. Glen Ord verfügt seit 1968 über eine große Trommel-Mälzanlage ("Drum Maltings"), deren mittlerweile 18 Mälztrommeln heute 37.000 Tonnen Gerstenmalz jährlich produzieren. Die meisten Destillerien in den nördlichen und nordöstlichen Highlands beziehen ihr Malz von hier. Ein bisschen Glen Ord steckt also in mehr Whiskys, als man denkt.

 

Ein bisschen Geschichte

Die Destillerie wurde 1838 als Ord Distillery von Thomas Mackenzie gegründet, der die Lizenz an  Robert Johnstone und Donald McLennan vergab. Im Laufe der nächsten Jahrzehnte gab es zahlreiche Besitzer, zu ihnen gehörten der Sohn von McLennan, später dessen Witwe und deren zweiter Ehemann. 1896 ging die Brennerei an James Watson & Son, die sie renovierten und die Malzböden vergrößerten. Von 1917 bis 1919 war Glen Ord stillgelegt. 1923 wurde die Destillerie an Thomas Dewar verkauft, zwei Jahre später kam sie zu Distillers Company Limited (DCL). Während des zweiten Weltkrieges blieb Glen Ord wie so viele Brennereien geschlossen.  
Von 1958 bis 1966 machte man bei Glen Ord Tests zu unterschiedlichen Arten der Brennblasenbefeuerung (Kohle, Öl oder Dampf). 1958 stellte man zwei der vier Brennblasen auf direkte Ölbefeuerung um, die restlichen Pot Stills wurde weiterhin traditionell mit Kohle beheizt. 1960 wurden die ölbefeuerten Stills auf Dampf umgestellt. 1961 schloss man die Floor Maltings und installierte stattdessen modernere Kastenmälzanlagen ("Saladin boxes"). 1966 erhöhte man die Anzahl der Brennblasen auf sechs und stellte die Befeuerung komplett auf Dampf um.
1968 wurde auf dem Gelände der Brennerei eine moderne, große Trommelmälzerei ("Drum Maltings") errichtet, die bis heute viele schottische Destillerien mit Gerstenmalz versorgt, darunter z.B. Talisker oder Clynelish. 1985 übernahmen United Distillers (UD) die Destillerie, die damit heute zu Diageo gehört.

Der Single Malt von Glen Ord wurde zeitweilig auch als Ord, Ordie, Glenordie oder Glen Oran verkauft.

 

Was habe ich da eigentlich im Glas?

Der Glen Ord hat einen recht vollen, üppigen Körper mit ausgeprägter Süße und einem langen Abgang. Auch Gewürze,Schokolade und nussige Aromen finden sich hier, ebenso wie manchmal auch rauchige Anklänge. 

 

3 Gründe, Glen Ord zu lieben

1) Weil es ohne Malz keinen Malt gibt.

2) Weil auch der Whisky von Glen Ord Anerkennung verdient.

3) Weil das Visitor Centre eines der sehenswertesten ist.

 

Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Der 21-jährige "Director's Cut" 1992/2013 aus dem Refill Sherry Butt von Douglas Laing ist ein üppig-würziges Fest der Sinne.

 

Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: Muir of Ord, Ross-shire IV6 7UJ

Gegründet: 1838 von Robert Johnstone und Donald McLennan

Status: aktiv

Besitzer: Diageo

Kapazität: ca. 5.000.000 Liter

3 wash stills (18.000 l)

3 spirit stills (15.500 l)

Wasser: Loch nam Bonnach, Loch nan Euan

Visitor Centre: ja

Telefon: +44 (0)1463 - 872004

Website: www.malts.com

Übersetzung: Tal des runden Hügels             Region: (Nördliche) Highlands   Wo das Malz herkommt. Eines vorweg: Der Single Malt von... mehr erfahren »
Fenster schließen
Glen Ord

Übersetzung: Tal des runden Hügels            

Region: (Nördliche) Highlands

 

Wo das Malz herkommt.

Eines vorweg: Der Single Malt von Glen Ord ist aller Ehren wert. Noch bekannter als für ihren Whisky ist die Destillerie allerdings für ihr Malz. Gerste zu mälzen ist eine äußerst aufwendige und langwierige Prozedur. Die wenigsten Destillerien haben daher noch eigene Maltings, um das benötigte Gerstenmalz selbst herzustellen. Glen Ord verfügt seit 1968 über eine große Trommel-Mälzanlage ("Drum Maltings"), deren mittlerweile 18 Mälztrommeln heute 37.000 Tonnen Gerstenmalz jährlich produzieren. Die meisten Destillerien in den nördlichen und nordöstlichen Highlands beziehen ihr Malz von hier. Ein bisschen Glen Ord steckt also in mehr Whiskys, als man denkt.

 

Ein bisschen Geschichte

Die Destillerie wurde 1838 als Ord Distillery von Thomas Mackenzie gegründet, der die Lizenz an  Robert Johnstone und Donald McLennan vergab. Im Laufe der nächsten Jahrzehnte gab es zahlreiche Besitzer, zu ihnen gehörten der Sohn von McLennan, später dessen Witwe und deren zweiter Ehemann. 1896 ging die Brennerei an James Watson & Son, die sie renovierten und die Malzböden vergrößerten. Von 1917 bis 1919 war Glen Ord stillgelegt. 1923 wurde die Destillerie an Thomas Dewar verkauft, zwei Jahre später kam sie zu Distillers Company Limited (DCL). Während des zweiten Weltkrieges blieb Glen Ord wie so viele Brennereien geschlossen.  
Von 1958 bis 1966 machte man bei Glen Ord Tests zu unterschiedlichen Arten der Brennblasenbefeuerung (Kohle, Öl oder Dampf). 1958 stellte man zwei der vier Brennblasen auf direkte Ölbefeuerung um, die restlichen Pot Stills wurde weiterhin traditionell mit Kohle beheizt. 1960 wurden die ölbefeuerten Stills auf Dampf umgestellt. 1961 schloss man die Floor Maltings und installierte stattdessen modernere Kastenmälzanlagen ("Saladin boxes"). 1966 erhöhte man die Anzahl der Brennblasen auf sechs und stellte die Befeuerung komplett auf Dampf um.
1968 wurde auf dem Gelände der Brennerei eine moderne, große Trommelmälzerei ("Drum Maltings") errichtet, die bis heute viele schottische Destillerien mit Gerstenmalz versorgt, darunter z.B. Talisker oder Clynelish. 1985 übernahmen United Distillers (UD) die Destillerie, die damit heute zu Diageo gehört.

Der Single Malt von Glen Ord wurde zeitweilig auch als Ord, Ordie, Glenordie oder Glen Oran verkauft.

 

Was habe ich da eigentlich im Glas?

Der Glen Ord hat einen recht vollen, üppigen Körper mit ausgeprägter Süße und einem langen Abgang. Auch Gewürze,Schokolade und nussige Aromen finden sich hier, ebenso wie manchmal auch rauchige Anklänge. 

 

3 Gründe, Glen Ord zu lieben

1) Weil es ohne Malz keinen Malt gibt.

2) Weil auch der Whisky von Glen Ord Anerkennung verdient.

3) Weil das Visitor Centre eines der sehenswertesten ist.

 

Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Der 21-jährige "Director's Cut" 1992/2013 aus dem Refill Sherry Butt von Douglas Laing ist ein üppig-würziges Fest der Sinne.

 

Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: Muir of Ord, Ross-shire IV6 7UJ

Gegründet: 1838 von Robert Johnstone und Donald McLennan

Status: aktiv

Besitzer: Diageo

Kapazität: ca. 5.000.000 Liter

3 wash stills (18.000 l)

3 spirit stills (15.500 l)

Wasser: Loch nam Bonnach, Loch nan Euan

Visitor Centre: ja

Telefon: +44 (0)1463 - 872004

Website: www.malts.com

Topseller
The Singleton of Glen Ord 15 Jahre Special Release 2022 54,2%vol. 0,7l The Singleton of Glen Ord 15 Jahre Special...
125,59 € *
(179,41 €* pro 1,0l)
Inhalt: 0.7l
Mit Farbstoff
Filter schließen
 
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
The Singleton of Glen Ord 15 Jahre Special Release 2022 54,2%vol. 0,7l
The Singleton of Glen Ord 15 Jahre Special...
125,59 € *
(179,41 €* pro 1,0l)
Inhalt: 0.7l
Mit Farbstoff
Zuletzt angesehen