window.ga=window.ga||function(){(ga.q=ga.q||[]).push(arguments)};ga.l=+new Date; ga('create', 'UA-43850283-1', 'auto'); ga('require', 'GTM-KCDD7PG'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('require', 'displayfeatures'); ga('require', 'cleanUrlTracker'); ga('require', 'outboundLinkTracker'); ga('require', 'ec'); ga('send', 'pageview'); ga('set', 'nonInteraction', true); setTimeout("ga('send', 'event', 'read', '20 seconds')", 20000);

Glen Albyn

Translation: Valley of Scotland
Region: (Northern) Highlands


Moving story without a happy ending.

Glen Albyn, founded in Inverness in 1884, was originally part of a brewery. Then a distillery. Then a flour mill. Then another distillery. A sea mine factory. And again a distillery. The distillery was sold in 1972, closed a few years later, and finally demolished in 1988. Today, where once was Glen Albyn, a shopping center, and only a few bottles keep the memory of the changing life of this "lost distillery" in the capital of the Highlands.


A little history

The distillery was founded in 1844 by James Sutherland on the site of the former Muirtown Brewery in the north of Inverness. In November 1849, a fire destroyed large parts of the distillery. Only three months later, however, could be produced again. From 1855 the distillery was for sale. Since there was no buyer for a long time, it was shut down in 1866 and used only as a flour mill. In 1884 Gregory and Co. bought Glen Albyn and again made a distillery out of it. During World War I, it served as a base for the US Navy. As with the colleagues of Dalmore, mines were produced here. In 1920 the distillery of Mackinlay & Birnie Ltd. was founded. accepted. In 1972, Glen Albyn went to the Distillers Company Limited (DCL), which they closed in 1983 and demolished in 1986. There is a shopping center on the site today.


What do I actually have in the glass?

The character of the Glen Albyn actually reminds little of the rough north and the nearby coast. The malt is rather fruity, light, with a delicate vanilla sweetness.


3 reasons to love Glen Albyn

1) Because a distillery suits the capital of the Highlands better than a shopping center.
2) Because the malt would have earned a happy ending.
3) Because the view is so beautiful here, where the Caledonian Canal flows into the Moray Firth.


The one drama for the lonely island

Glen Albyn bottlings are pretty much unobtainable. A certain chance still offers the 1976er of Gordon & MacPhail. Soft but complex, with a fruity character and notes of honey and spices. To buy!


numbers and facts

Address: (former) Great North Road, Inverness, Inverness-IV IV IV 5LD
Founded: 1844 by James Sutherland
Status: demolished
Owner: (last) Distillers Company Limited (DCL)
Capacity: (formerly)
1 wash still (8,000 l)
1 Spirit still (7,000 l)
Water: (formerly) River Ness
Visitor Center: -
Telephone: -
Website: -

Translation: Valley of Scotland Region: (Northern) Highlands Moving story without a happy ending. Glen Albyn, founded in Inverness in 1884, was originally part of a brewery. Then a... read more »
Close window
Glen Albyn

Translation: Valley of Scotland
Region: (Northern) Highlands


Moving story without a happy ending.

Glen Albyn, founded in Inverness in 1884, was originally part of a brewery. Then a distillery. Then a flour mill. Then another distillery. A sea mine factory. And again a distillery. The distillery was sold in 1972, closed a few years later, and finally demolished in 1988. Today, where once was Glen Albyn, a shopping center, and only a few bottles keep the memory of the changing life of this "lost distillery" in the capital of the Highlands.


A little history

The distillery was founded in 1844 by James Sutherland on the site of the former Muirtown Brewery in the north of Inverness. In November 1849, a fire destroyed large parts of the distillery. Only three months later, however, could be produced again. From 1855 the distillery was for sale. Since there was no buyer for a long time, it was shut down in 1866 and used only as a flour mill. In 1884 Gregory and Co. bought Glen Albyn and again made a distillery out of it. During World War I, it served as a base for the US Navy. As with the colleagues of Dalmore, mines were produced here. In 1920 the distillery of Mackinlay & Birnie Ltd. was founded. accepted. In 1972, Glen Albyn went to the Distillers Company Limited (DCL), which they closed in 1983 and demolished in 1986. There is a shopping center on the site today.


What do I actually have in the glass?

The character of the Glen Albyn actually reminds little of the rough north and the nearby coast. The malt is rather fruity, light, with a delicate vanilla sweetness.


3 reasons to love Glen Albyn

1) Because a distillery suits the capital of the Highlands better than a shopping center.
2) Because the malt would have earned a happy ending.
3) Because the view is so beautiful here, where the Caledonian Canal flows into the Moray Firth.


The one drama for the lonely island

Glen Albyn bottlings are pretty much unobtainable. A certain chance still offers the 1976er of Gordon & MacPhail. Soft but complex, with a fruity character and notes of honey and spices. To buy!


numbers and facts

Address: (former) Great North Road, Inverness, Inverness-IV IV IV 5LD
Founded: 1844 by James Sutherland
Status: demolished
Owner: (last) Distillers Company Limited (DCL)
Capacity: (formerly)
1 wash still (8,000 l)
1 Spirit still (7,000 l)
Water: (formerly) River Ness
Visitor Center: -
Telephone: -
Website: -

No results were found for the filter!
Viewed

Summer Sale 2024: Feiere 20 Jahre Home of Malts mit Mega Angeboten!

Glen Albyn

Übersetzung: Tal von Schottland
Region: (Nördliche) Highlands


Bewegte Geschichte ohne Happy End.

Glen Albyn, 1884 in Inverness gegründet, war ursprünglich Teil einer Brauerei. Dann eine Destillerie. Dann eine Getreidemühle. Dann wieder eine Destillerie. Eine Seeminenfabrik. Und wieder eine Destillerie. 1972 wurde die Brennerei verkauft, einige Jahre später geschlossen und schließlich, 1988, abgerissen. Heute steht dort, wo einst Glen Albyn war, ein Einkaufscenter, und nur noch wenige Flaschen halten die Erinnerung wach an das wechselvolle Leben dieser „lost distillery“ in der Hauptstadt der Highlands.


Ein bisschen Geschichte

Die Brennerei wurde 1844 von James Sutherland auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Muirtown Brauerei im Norden von Inverness gegründet. Im November 1849 zerstörte ein Brand große Teile der Destillerie. Schon drei Monate später konnte aber wieder produziert werden. Ab 1855 stand die Brennerei zum Verkauf. Da sich lange Zeit kein Käufer fand, wurde sie 1866 stillgelegt und nur noch als Getreidemühle benutzt. 1884 kauften Gregory and Co. Glen Albyn und machten wieder eine Destillerie daraus. Während des ersten Weltkriegs diente sie der US Marine als Stützpunkt. Wie bei den Kollegen von Dalmore wurden hier Seeminen hergestellt. 1920 wurde die Brennerei von Mackinlay & Birnie Ltd. übernommen. 1972 ging Glen Albyn an die Distillers Company Limited (DCL), die sie 1983 schlossen und 1986 abrissen. Auf dem Gelände steht heute ein Einkaufszentrum.


Was habe ich da eigentlich im Glas?

Der Charakter des Glen Albyn erinnert eigentlich wenig an den rauen Norden und die nahe Küste. Der Malt ist eher fruchtig, leicht, mit zarter Vanillesüße.


3 Gründe, Glen Albyn zu lieben

1) Weil eine Destillerie besser zur Hauptstadt der Highlands passt als ein Einkaufscenter.
2) Weil der Malt ein Happy End verdient hätte.
3) Weil der Ausblick so schön ist hier, wo der Caledonian Canal in den Moray Firth mündet.


Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Glen Albyn Abfüllungen sind so gut wie nicht mehr zu bekommen. Eine gewisse Chance bietet noch der 1976er von Gordon & MacPhail. Weich, aber komplex, mit fruchtigem Charakter und Noten von Honig und Gewürzen. Kaufen!


Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: (ehemals) Great North Road, Inverness, Inverness-shire IV3 5LD
Gegründet: 1844 von James Sutherland
Status: abgerissen
Besitzer: (zuletzt) Distillers Company Limited (DCL)
Kapazität: (ehemals) 
1 Wash still (8.000 l)
1 Spirit still (7.000 l)
Wasser: (ehemals) River Ness
Visitor Centre: -
Telefon: -
Website:  -

Übersetzung: Tal von Schottland Region: (Nördliche) Highlands Bewegte Geschichte ohne Happy End. Glen Albyn, 1884 in Inverness gegründet, war ursprünglich Teil einer Brauerei. Dann eine... mehr erfahren »
Fenster schließen
Glen Albyn

Übersetzung: Tal von Schottland
Region: (Nördliche) Highlands


Bewegte Geschichte ohne Happy End.

Glen Albyn, 1884 in Inverness gegründet, war ursprünglich Teil einer Brauerei. Dann eine Destillerie. Dann eine Getreidemühle. Dann wieder eine Destillerie. Eine Seeminenfabrik. Und wieder eine Destillerie. 1972 wurde die Brennerei verkauft, einige Jahre später geschlossen und schließlich, 1988, abgerissen. Heute steht dort, wo einst Glen Albyn war, ein Einkaufscenter, und nur noch wenige Flaschen halten die Erinnerung wach an das wechselvolle Leben dieser „lost distillery“ in der Hauptstadt der Highlands.


Ein bisschen Geschichte

Die Brennerei wurde 1844 von James Sutherland auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Muirtown Brauerei im Norden von Inverness gegründet. Im November 1849 zerstörte ein Brand große Teile der Destillerie. Schon drei Monate später konnte aber wieder produziert werden. Ab 1855 stand die Brennerei zum Verkauf. Da sich lange Zeit kein Käufer fand, wurde sie 1866 stillgelegt und nur noch als Getreidemühle benutzt. 1884 kauften Gregory and Co. Glen Albyn und machten wieder eine Destillerie daraus. Während des ersten Weltkriegs diente sie der US Marine als Stützpunkt. Wie bei den Kollegen von Dalmore wurden hier Seeminen hergestellt. 1920 wurde die Brennerei von Mackinlay & Birnie Ltd. übernommen. 1972 ging Glen Albyn an die Distillers Company Limited (DCL), die sie 1983 schlossen und 1986 abrissen. Auf dem Gelände steht heute ein Einkaufszentrum.


Was habe ich da eigentlich im Glas?

Der Charakter des Glen Albyn erinnert eigentlich wenig an den rauen Norden und die nahe Küste. Der Malt ist eher fruchtig, leicht, mit zarter Vanillesüße.


3 Gründe, Glen Albyn zu lieben

1) Weil eine Destillerie besser zur Hauptstadt der Highlands passt als ein Einkaufscenter.
2) Weil der Malt ein Happy End verdient hätte.
3) Weil der Ausblick so schön ist hier, wo der Caledonian Canal in den Moray Firth mündet.


Der eine Dram für die einsame Insel

Glen Albyn Abfüllungen sind so gut wie nicht mehr zu bekommen. Eine gewisse Chance bietet noch der 1976er von Gordon & MacPhail. Weich, aber komplex, mit fruchtigem Charakter und Noten von Honig und Gewürzen. Kaufen!


Zahlen & Fakten

Adresse: (ehemals) Great North Road, Inverness, Inverness-shire IV3 5LD
Gegründet: 1844 von James Sutherland
Status: abgerissen
Besitzer: (zuletzt) Distillers Company Limited (DCL)
Kapazität: (ehemals) 
1 Wash still (8.000 l)
1 Spirit still (7.000 l)
Wasser: (ehemals) River Ness
Visitor Centre: -
Telefon: -
Website:  -

Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Zuletzt angesehen